Nicole and AB's Trip, Part 1


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
December 30th 2006
Published: January 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Somewhere near NagoyaSomewhere near NagoyaSomewhere near Nagoya

On the Shinkansen
As many of you know, I got to spend Christmas in Texas (thanks to Mom and Dad). It was a short visit, and I didn't see nearly enough of you, but I was very grateful nonetheless. 😊


So last summer, Sun Mi, Nicole, and I made a plan to meet up in Tokyo for New Year's Eve. Hard to believe that it's already come and gone! I was super stoked to be able to see both of them, and the whole thing was made even better by the addition of my lil' bro, Aaron.

Nicole and I both arrived in Japan on the 29th, with me coming in a few hours behind. The next day we got up early and took the Shinkansen up to Tokyo. I have to say that the bullet train is definitely the way to travel here in Japan. It's not exactly the cheapest form of transportation, but it's such an enjoyable way to get around! The scenery was lovely and the weather was clear enough for us to get a nice view of Mt. Fuji.

When we got to Tokyo, we made our way Asakusa and checked into our hostel, the Tokyo Smile. Our room contained a single bunk bed with about two feet of space on each side. Good thing it was only about $20/night per person!

Aaron flew into Tokyo, so we waited for him to get in before we headed to Shinkjuku to meet up with Sun Mi and her boyfriend at the Tokyo Park Hyatt (a la "Lost in Translation"). My friends Luke and Ian, who also happened to be spending their holidays in Tokyo, joined us there. The view was nice but the drinks were expensive, so we each had one and then headed home for the evening.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

The golden turdThe golden turd
The golden turd

A brewery (I think Asahi) in Asakusa
The three amigosThe three amigos
The three amigos

Me, Nicole, and Sun Mi at the Tokyo Park Hyatt in Shinjuku


31st January 2007

my sizzers so purty. :)

Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 76; dbt: 0.0862s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb