O-Matsuri


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Machida
October 3rd 2011
Published: October 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Carrying the Omikoshi 26 secs
Recently I was a part of the Machida O-Matsuri. The festival consisted of carrying an omikoshi around the city. We took about four stops before completing the route. I did not realize how heavy the omikoshi was until I actually helped carry it. It is so painful. My shoulders hurt for about three days. It was an amazing experience to help carry it though. While carrying it people chant phrases and have a certain step that they do while they carry it. Each time before we stopped to set the omikoshi down to take a break, we had to lift the omikoshi up and down, align it to the stands and do a clapping cheer. (Not sure if “cheer” is the right word.)
The outfit that I wore was a thin robe, obi (belt), head band, charm necklace and traditional shoes. The shoes were my favorite part of the outfit. Though they were very thin, they were comfortable to walk in. The shoes were made out of thin white cloth and had separation between the big toe and other toes. It was almost like a sock. Though I wish I could have kept the whole outfit, the organization I volunteered with let me keep the charm necklace and head band. They also gave me a lantern and 1000 yen for the matsuri.
After carrying the omikoshi, everyone changed back into their regular clothes and was led to another portion of the omatsuri. This part was something many people have seen in Japanese cartoons and comic books. There were stalls selling food, drinks and also there were many game stalls. There was also a temple for people to make their prayers/wishes. I tried a choco banana, fried chicken, and ichigo (strawberry) juice. My friend played a game were you tried to catch mini turtles in a paper cup…so difficult.
Around the omatsuri, one can see women and young girls dressed in yukatas. The atmosphere is so relaxed and light.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

TurtlesTurtles
Turtles

So cute!


15th October 2011

So cool!!!
ALICIA!! :D You are already starting school right now, right? Tell us about your school!! Everything here looks so cute :D I like the big octopi :D Also, what is this "chocobanana"? It looks so interesting :P

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb