One small step for me and halfway round the world for everyone else


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Asakusa
February 8th 2010
Published: February 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

When I landed in Tokyo a couple of days ago I expected there to be big differences in lifestyle as the Japanese are so modern. There are high-tech gizmos everywhere including heated toilet seats which are fantastic when the weather is as cold as it is now!! However apart from the odd difference here and there I felt like I was in somewhere like China town when I arrived! On my itinerary for the 7th Feb was a game of tennis with Lisa's japanese friends. I left early to get to the station to meet Lisa and made sure I found the place. As I was so early I decided to try a spot of lunch at a local fastfood joint near the station where I was able to consume Japanese curry for just over 2 pounds! This was a great experience as it is typical of the fastfood joints across the land. You buy your meal ticket from a vending machine and with this you take it to the food counter where they give you your food. There was plenty to choose from and the food is ready instantly, no waitin u may in a British cafe!

Once I had been fed I was ready to head back to the station to wait for Lisa. One difference I have found is certainly the Japanese hospitality. Everyone is willing to go out of there way to be of any help as I found out yesterday when I was waiting for Lisa at Asakusa subway station. I was very early as I did not want to get lost and cause panic to Lisa who would've had no way to contact me had I not been at our rendevous point at the station. A kind Volunteer helper who was at the station to help foreigners with any queries they had, asked if everything was OK and let me borrow his Japanese mobile to call Lisa when I had waited for some time! Next stop was subway and train ride to the tennis facilities Where I met Lisa's friends who were too good for me to compete with as they were from her Uni Tennis club! They were very kind and helped me fit in, even though maybe 2 out 20 spoke a good level of English. After tennis we went for dinner where my jetlag started to kick in and I had to stop myself from sleeping, which would have been too rude. Once over we jumped back on the train + subway to go home and get some well deserved sleep!! Next stop in a couple of days is Hokkaido for the Japanese Ice festival!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb