Im on TV!!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Akihabara
February 25th 2008
Published: March 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Today's Menu 72 secs
Hi Mom!Hi Mom!Hi Mom!

Did you get my good side?

.......but probably not



Our school(gakkou) made the random announcement that a television crew was coming to give the Americans an interview of sorts. I don't remember the details well, but it was some gameshow, kind of like Sabado Gigante, where many acts, contestants, and performances take place. One of the sessions was going to show clips of Americans trying really bizarre Japanese foods(tabemono), so everyone could exploit our miseries. Just about all the Americans signed up to volunteer.

Well, then that fateful day finally came by. They set up all the cameras in a separate room, and had everyone wait upstairs. For some reason, I was chosen to go first. Maybe because of my eccentric appearance? Who knows. I sat down at a desk and looked up to a camera that was about 6 inches from my face. It must be pretty nerve-wrecking to be a actor. I became a little nervous at this point. They told me to really go out with my facial expressions, and that the best reactions would be put on TV. I prepared myself for the worst. I was already given a low-down of the foods they had in store for me.

I
EwwwwEwwwwEwwww

Maybe I'll digress and say Im lucky they didn't have me try these wonderful dishes...
pulled off the cover from the plate and found myself with what looked like seaweed topped with Parmesan cheese. I wasn't intimidated at all, and dove right in. As they prepared to capture my jolt of disgust, I became embarrassed...because I actually found it to be pretty good. I told them I would even recommend it to my friends(tomodachi).
Then a second dish was handed to me, which looked like lo mien. And again, I was surprised how good it tasted and ate the whole serving. I guess they were going up the scale in level of gross(mazui). I told them I was quite used to Japanese food, so these kind of "seaweed" and strange vegetable foods wont phase me anymore.

The third dish was looked like mud, with worms in it(they were roots). I gave it a try, but I couldn't force myself to be that grossed out by it....I hate lying or forcing things. At this point I became impatient and told them to give me all they got, Im no push-over.

They nodded their head in understanding and handed me the final dish. I still don't know what it is. They translated it to
Caramelized LocustsCaramelized LocustsCaramelized Locusts

Oh yea, I can feel my mouth watering...
"orcus" or something. It looked like expired mayonnaise or cream cheese. My guess it was a galbladder or some gooey organ found in some shark. I finally had a reaction; it was pretty bitter, oily, and gooey. I ate all of it to prolong my reaction, but I was tired of putting on a show. With a smile, I told them next time don't give me such delicious foods to eat, especially when I'm starving! I think I set the standard after that, because my friends' experience were much more frightening. The pictures and video can explain all that to you. Enjoy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Sorry buddy...Sorry buddy...
Sorry buddy...

It's either you or me.


2nd April 2008

que horror
No lo puedo creer , yo no te mande a japon a comerte los bichos de alla,pero que bueno que te gustan so voy a colectar todos los criket, cucarachas y snake, el dia que regreses te los tendre bien fritos, estas muy guapo en las fotos, me da mucho gusto que la estes pasando bien, se lo pido a dios a cada minuto, pero por una vez en tu vida te podrias sacar el friken trapo de la cabeza y tomarte una foto para mi en algun paisaje de alli, quiero ensenarles a mis amigas una foto de ti en un paisaje japones pero sin el dichoso gorrito, please te quiero mucho mi amor, y que la pases bien,
3rd April 2008

that isn't really that gross
I ate cat before, of course i got trick into it, but it actually was tastier and softer that chicken meat... and in another time i ate a live cockroach, i was drunk sleep with my mouth open, awful habit of my when i get drunk, well that was pretty gross, i ate half of the tube paste, that the memory scared me for life

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0642s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb