Handball?


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Akihabara
January 31st 2008
Published: January 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Im going to watch the game?



For those of you who know me, you'll know Im completely out of the loop when it comes to sports. I don't mind playing them from the time, I actually really enjoy a casual game of football, dodgeball, or ping-pong; its just that I cant watch sports on television or physically go to watch the game at the stadium/field. I don't have any emotional attachment to any of the teams, therefore, I don't really care who's winning or what's happening to whatever team/player. Maybe with the Bucs when we won the SuperBowl (Im from Tampa), but thats about it.
Well, I got invited by my two fellow Korean classmates to go watch a Handball game between Korea and Japan. They had an extra ticket, and it was a generous offer, so I accepted their invitation. I wasn't really familiar with handball, so I thought it might be fun to watch a new sport.
So we headed off to Yoyogi stadium in Harajuku. The stadium was pretty packed afterall, I don't really know how important this game is, but I think it kinda was. The girl who invited me tried telling
Me and (?)Me and (?)Me and (?)

I ashamed to admit that I forgot my host's name.....
me about it on her electric dictionary. Her net findings were "This is the Day of Judgement". I jokingly took it as her warning me that the day of Rapture was coming, but I had no way of communicating it to her.
I don't know if they have these elsewhere, but I think I enjoy Asia's method of cheering more. Everyone was given free jerseys, banners, and balloon sticks. "Balloon sticks you say?" Indeed, you would blow them up and smack them together. Everyone did synchronized balloon stick smacking and swaying, which was kind of fun. I was astonished at the decibel level these little sticks were capable of. Don't underestimate them. As for the jerseys, everyone put them on so the sides of stadium would elicit waves of blue(aoi) and red(akai). Korea=Red by the way.
As for Handball, it looks like it would be really fun(tanoshi) to play. It was sorta like soccer and basketball put together. It would be played like basketball, but instead of hoops, you had goals. I feel bad for the goalies, they got hit in the face a few times, and I feel like its too hard to block. It was similar
Hyon-JinHyon-JinHyon-Jin

He's in my class, thats why I remember.
to hockey, where you could get really close and swat the puck in, so there's very little time to react.
It was a pretty close game, but in the end, Korea emerged as the victor. Upon The Day of Judgement, they will be spared.

If you comment, tell me if you get audio for the video, cuz I dont😞






Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Cheering CrowdsCheering Crowds
Cheering Crowds

(Balloon Stick Action Included)
Team KoreaTeam Korea
Team Korea

Check out the sweet hangtime!
Hey Im American!Hey Im American!
Hey Im American!

To complete my tourist sport excursion, you can't forget to get a picture with the Cheerleaders


Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb