Tokyo to Kyoto


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Akasaka
March 5th 2014
Published: March 26th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


My next trip finds me to the land of the rising sun, when it wasn't snowing that is! It is very easy to find information on how to travel in Japan so I will just restrict this blog to the highlights.

Tokyo

Tokyo was everything I hoped it would be, a futuristic, clean, polite and yet the promise of wild nightlife was a pleasant supplement to the order of the place. Over the next 2 days visited I visited various sites outlined in the pics including the Tokyo Metropolitan building which afforded great views and was free! This is Tokyo's City Hall, and with its 243m, it is the 7th tallest building in Japan. Built to resemble a computer chip and also a Gothic cathedral, it makes for one of the best observation decks in Tokyo.

Senso-ji temple in Asaksa which was near where I was staying most of the hostels are there. Had a wander round the imperial gardens and the Meiji shrine but forgot to go to Yoyogi Park on a Sunday, so don't you do that. I walked round the districts of Shibuya with its famous crossing and Shinjuku, Ginza.

The nightlife at the weekend in Tokyo is really wild and I would say it's got to be Roppongi all the way.

Kyoto

After 3 nights in futuristic Tokyo it was time to spend 5 nights in the old capital city of Kyoto, there are hundreds of temples here and most of them charge to enter but I visited the following during my time there:

Daitoku-ji (free), Shren-in, Kiyomizu-dera, Kenin-ji. Honen-in, Ginkaku-ji (my favourite), Kinkaku-ji, Ryoan-ji.

I also undertook a day trip to Nara with the biggest wooden building in the world - a temple surrounding a buddha, a day trip to hiroshima and a visit to Arashiyama bamboo grove in the pouring rain.

I stayed at the Piece hostel in Kyoto and can't recommend it highly enough just opposite the station, whilst there I met up my new chums 3 Aussies and a wild Canadian from the Rockies who was an expert in insulting people, he was a hoot.

It won't surprise my readers to hear that I've been photographed for a German Fashion mag today, well by me it was more of an extension of me, well by that I mean my bike was in a fashion shoot:-) On the way up to my first temple with my bike a German stopped me and asked me if he could borrow my bike for a few minutes, so I said sure why the hell not! he then said they were shooting some pics with Paul from Toronto for a German Fashion magazine. Me and the director got chattting about football and the Japanese whilst my bike was the star of the show!!





Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0909s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb