Disaster


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokushima » Tokushima
March 22nd 2011
Published: March 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

The disaster in northeast Japan isn't news to anyone, and friends and family witnessing the disaster through the media have been filling my inbox with messages of concern and support. Thank you, I have never felt more loved.

It is surreal for me to be living in Japan at a time like this. On the one hand, I'm extremely close to the disaster zone, closer than I've been to any headline news catastrophe apart from 9/11. But on the other hand, I'm experiencing this almost entirely through the news, just like everyone in the states.

My home on Shikoku island, about 415 miles from Fukushima prefecture, is virtually unaffected by the quake, tsunami and radiation threat - though I do understand that this could change. The mood at my workplace has saddened, and of course people were glued to the TV after the earthquake, but here the trains and buses run on schedule, the electricity works and noone seems scared for their own safety as a result of everything that is happening. The primary concern remains for the homeless, injured and mourning victims in the north.

Within the JET community in my prefecture, a few people have decided to get out of Japan. One I believe will not come back, and two are using their vacation days while they see how the situation develops. It's been suggested that I leave, too, as aftershocks and a nuclear meltdown have the potential to spread the arms of the disaster to my corner of Japan.

But many of us here share the same feeling about whether to stay or go. Though I've only been here for eight months, right now my life is in Japan. I have friends, a job, a home and what I feel is a second family here. I have responsibilities here, commitments and things left to accomplish. Lastly, and selfishly, my dream is here. I worked hard to achieve my goal of living and working abroad, and I want to see this year through to the end.

Mom and Dad Peavy were here visiting at the time of the earthquake, but thankfully the three of us left Tokyo hours beforehand, and were here in Tokushima for the following week. They were able to keep their flight out of Narita Airport in Tokyo and are now safe at home. Saying goodbye was especially difficult, but I'm glad they got to see how special my experience here has been.

One of the only ways to help right now is to donate money, and my contribution will go to the Red Cross. If you can afford to donate - I know itunes has a convenient way to do it - the victims could really use your support.

Advertisement



23rd March 2011

Love from Chicago!
I was waiting for this update! I'm so glad that you and your parents were okay. I can't imagine how difficult this must be, and I hope you can finish your year if it's safe for you to stay. If you end up having to come back I will personally make you okonomiyaki for a month, or something. But I know that probably wouldn't be the same. Hang in there, Susan! XO Blair
23rd March 2011

Excellent
Very well stated, Susan. We love you very much!! Dad
23rd March 2011

I am so happy you are safe and far away from all the issues in Japan. Keep safe and come home if things get worse. We love you and miss you here in MA.

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0239s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb