Continuning to get settled...


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Shizuoka » Shimizu
February 21st 2007
Published: March 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ume BlossomsUme BlossomsUme Blossoms

Plum trees at a garden in Mariko. Cherry Blossoms should begin to bloom in about a month :)
Been in Japan for almost a month now (it will be one month on the 23rd) and I still haven't made it out of Shizuoka yet, this city has plenty to keep me busy and I really am still discovering new things every day!!! I am still getting settled, but I am proud to say that I have successfully set up a Japanese bank account, purchased a cell phone, set up a cell phone plan, figured out the postal system, communicated on the phone with the post office, discovered some great places to shop for essentials. I still have tons to learn about daily life in Japan but I am progressing!!!

We:ve had stormy weather for the past week, lots of rain and lots of wind, but today way beautiful!!! I went on a bike ride to a Japanese Ume (Plum tree) Garden with a couple other Nova teachers. It was gorgeous, lots of beautiful blossoms and green tea and even music coming from hidden speakers throughout the garden.

Dawn and I are in the middle of redecorating our apartment which I am totally excited about because it is really starting to feel like home!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

First homemade miso soup!!!First homemade miso soup!!!
First homemade miso soup!!!

I can't wait to make it for everyone at home!
OnigiriOnigiri
Onigiri

Kind of like sushi burritos :), Dawn and I have em for lunch!!!
Our new table!Our new table!
Our new table!

Dawn sawed off the legs with a saw from the 100 Yen shop and covered it with Japanese papers that represent the 4 seasons!
Our new couchOur new couch
Our new couch

Dawn recovered it with Japanese fabric, the swans are good luck :)
Beautiful roses from Joe!!!Beautiful roses from Joe!!!
Beautiful roses from Joe!!!

Valentine's roses from Joe!!! What a sweetheart!!!


Tot: 0.248s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0681s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb