In The Presence Of Naked Men


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Shimane » Hikimi
February 16th 2007
Published: February 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sex FenceSex FenceSex Fence

Plenty of naked women are on the other side of that bamboo fence.
The contents of this entry contain incriminating photographs of me performing acts that would likely get me arrested, possibly even deported. But it was a sacrifice I was willing to make. The things I do for you guys.

I woke up early today to accompany Denise to the sleepy mountain town of Hikimi, about 40km south of Masuda. Denise was busy teaching english classes at the Junior High school, so I took it upon myself to mosey over to the local onsen to have a nice, hot bath and shave. I also thought it would be a good idea to bring along my camera.

Japan is blessed with an abundance of natural hot springs throughout the country, and as many of you know, they partake in nude communal bathing. It's something we've become quite accustomed to and it's actually one of our favourite things about Japan. My first onsen experience was shortly after my arrival in Japan, and being openly naked with a bunch of men seemed a tad uncomfortable - it's nothing like showering at the gym.

I knew the basics, but didn't want to commit a huge gaffe, so I watched others bathe via my individual
Main BathMain BathMain Bath

Complete with jets to massage sore body parts after a hard days work in the rice paddy. That little bath on the right is very cold water, perfect for a post-steamroom dip.
mirror to make sure I was doing it right. The rules of etiquette are pretty simple, with the two most important points being: don't get any soap into the communal baths, and don't dip your wash towel into the baths. Through experience I have assembled my own list of tips for those that wish to visit an onsen on their next trip to the Land of the Rising Sun.

Camille's DOs & DON'Ts:
DO: Wash and rinse thoroughly before entering the communal bathing areas
DON'T: Wash and rinse your friend(s)
DO: Carry around a modesty towel to cover your goods
DON'T: Snap your buddy in the ass with a wet towel
DO: Sit back, relax, and soak in the nice hot water
DON'T: Pee
DO: Make conversation with friends about politics, the weather, or baseball scores while sitting in the steamroom
DON'T:

Hey Tanaka-san...nice penis!



Obviously, taking pictures is a big no-no as well, but since when do I listen. I apologize if the pictures aren't of the highest quality as I had to incorporate a little bit of stealth to take them without getting busted. I'm already singled out as being a foreigner, adding 'pervert' to the list wouldn't help matters.
Peaceful SceneryPeaceful SceneryPeaceful Scenery

The outdoors are landscaped to provide an aesthetically pleasing bathing environment.

While quietly sitting in the corner, I kept tabs on the other bathers. Once it cleared out a little, I went back to the change room to grab the camera and hid it in my towel. I snapped a couple of shots while the remaining two guys were in the steamroom. Thinking I wasn't going to get another opportunity, I decided to head for the change room. Thankfully, the first guy came and went while I was getting ready, followed soon after by the second guy. So I pretended that I dropped an item in the bath, and quickly ducked in to take a couple more photos before 'finding' my chapstick that I had previously hidden in my towel.

After killing more time brushing my teeth and chatting with guy #2, he finally left. So I very quickly stripped down and snuck in for a few more shots. It's quite invigorating, taking pictures in restricted areas, knowing that a naked man could enter your frame at any second, and I'd be at a complete loss for words to explain why I'm standing on a ledge holding a camera.

A little off topic, but still on the related subject:
Mens OnsenMens OnsenMens Onsen

Standing on a window ledge overlooking the two big indoor baths and the washing area.
What's the correct plural of penis? Is it 'penises', or 'penii'? I personally prefer the latter. Ummm...let me rephrase that. I don't prefer penii per se, rather, just the word itself.

*sigh* Nevermind...

Camille & Denise


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Outdoor BathOutdoor Bath
Outdoor Bath

High fencing and tall trees prevent local perverts from checking out your naughty bits while you soak outside.
Wash StationWash Station
Wash Station

Don't forget to scrub where the sun don't shine!
Stealth PhotographyStealth Photography
Stealth Photography

Oh, if the walls could speak!
SneakySneaky
Sneaky

Snapped while 'looking' for my lost chapstick!


16th February 2007

Bob will be proud
I'll tell my Finnish friend that you have now taken to hanging out naked around other men in hot areas. Him and Harri will crown you an honorary Finn for showing your 'kalu' in public.
16th February 2007

Rules to live by...
These rules would apply for more than just the communal baths. You may have a future as a P.I. - the stalking and perversion will come in handy. BTW, cheque under $10k CDN. Love you guys.
16th February 2007

Communal Bathing?
As a man who has been part of team sports for many, many years, I still find it uncomfortable to shower with other naked men. The fact that you are comfortable with communal bathing with complete strangers simply to bathe with complete strangers makes you a bigger man than me. Kudos. PS, It's "penises". Sorry to burst yer bubble.
17th February 2007

Sneaky Pete
Doing the Sneaky Pete while sneaking a camera peak. Shady rogue, but well done.
20th February 2007

Well done
Hey Camille, Probably the only time I will set eyes on an Onsen so thnaks for the stealth pics.. you very sneaky foreigner/ (almost pervert).
23rd February 2007

Verry verry sneaky....
Camille, you're a huge perv!!! Although the idea of someone seeing you standing naked on a ledge taking pictures of a bathhouse is hillarious, so that slightly makes up for your pervertness! Does Denise know that you like to take pictures in male Onsens?
26th February 2008

My 2006 Photos
I too visited a Japaneese communal bath and wanted some photos to record the event. I had my trusty disposable camera handy and when nobody was around I clicked some general shots to show what it looked like. The only one of ME was my reflection in the mirror of the changing room. I'd love to have had one of me in a pool but there was nobody to make it for me. It was an interesting experience and I had a nice conversation with a guy who turned out to be a waiter in the hotel restaurant and who I saw the next day. The baths at two different locations were among my trip highlights and I am normally "MR MODEST"

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0536s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb