New hobbies


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Shiga » Koka
June 14th 2008
Published: June 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Technically they're old hobbies, but since it's been a while and i'm in a new country we can call them new hobbies for now.

In Australia I played soccer, I danced (latin) and I went out for the occasional karaoke night…..and to be honest, until I started doing it again here, I didn’t realize how much I missed them. I started feeling the dancing itch a while ago, and was so so pleased to find a dance class here, and the soccer training and karaoke are just happy accidents.


DANCING

I have seen 10 year old Japanese girls that could give 25 year old Hip Hop dancers in Perth a run for their money….so I signed up for a class. It feels so good to get my body moving again, though it tends to be rather painful sometimes….what with the….you know….. stretching

(i can't say that word too loudly, or my muscles will mutiny….they are displeased with all the work I put them though).

My instructor is the same age as me, and is apparently well known in this prefecture for her dancing. I would love to get her to do a workshop back home
I am a Cat.I am a Cat.I am a Cat.

Author: Souseki Natsume
one day....i'm filing the idea away for future reference.


SOCCER

A teacher at my school invited me to go along and train with her soccer team. She plays indoor in Moriyama. I went along thinking it would be quite tame. I was filled with assurances of ‘oh no, I don’t play very well’…….but then I was faced with the fact that no matter how unwell a Japanese person says they are at a task….they are much much better. Damn their modest ways! ^_^.

I felt quite intimidated at first, but everyone was so friendly and encouraging that I felt like I could join in, and got some amazing ideas for when I go home. Just you wait ladies. I’ve got some training moves for you!


KARAOKE

As for Karaoke, I have only been twice while in Japan! How can this be? I’ll have to organize some more karaoke events, that’s for sure. I was invited to dinner with a group of people related to the ‘Koka International Society’… a not for profit organization that works in the community, fostering globalization and communication. It was a welcome party for me, a going away party
The TeamThe TeamThe Team

and some extras in the front
for Rumi who is leaving to find other employment, and a goodbye Ross party (he has lived and worked in the area for 2 years and is returning to America).

We ate and ate and ate (I am still amazed at the amount of food Japanese people can put away!) and then sang a little bit and went home. (This is where I saw the cat in the bookshelf).

One thing I like here is that when someone is giving a speech, it’s ok to keep eating and have small conversations with other people. It’s not a Stop Eating, Stop Drinking, Listen to Everything I have to Say and Pretend you Aren’t Bored Out of Your Mind scenario. It’s taken as fact that people are going to chat and eat and it takes the spotlight off of the speech maker as well. This goes for all but the initial and final speeches though, The first one is where you listen and nod and say Kampaii! and Itadakimasu! and the last one is where you thank your host and say Gochisou sama deshita!.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

The Team 2The Team 2
The Team 2

The extras were trying to be sexy - or having seizures. You decide
All ready for HipHopAll ready for HipHop
All ready for HipHop

Taking self-pics is losing it's novelty factor...
Rumi singingRumi singing
Rumi singing

And can you see the vast quantities of food - nope. We were hungry.
Ross on the leftRoss on the left
Ross on the left

He's leaving after 2 years in Japan


Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb