Eisa Festival


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Osaka
September 18th 2005
Published: September 18th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Today I went to the Eisa festival in the Taisho district of Osaka. It was a really great festival. It was a field trip of sorts, but once we arrived we were free to roam and leave on our own. I only stayed maybe 3 hours but during the time I saw a lot of really great dancing and a lot of great music. There were a few different group of sanshin players which is a native instrument to Okinawa and really nice to listen to and there were even more large groups of drummers who played their drums and danced, among the drummers were many young children, maybe no older than 5 or 6 who didnt miss a beat or step in these 10 to 15 minuet entr’acte dances. I attended with Tomi my speaking partner who is a freshman at Kansai and very sweet and Tomoki my host brother. We sampled some of the Okinawan food for sale at the festival I had the okinawan dry soba which was really good and some Okinawan beer called Orion which was also superb, All in all it was a good gestival and I would strongly recommend it to anyone with any interest in Okinawa.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 4; qc: 37; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 985.1kb