Sakura Heights


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Okinawa » Okinawa Honto
June 1st 2014
Published: June 1st 2014
Edit Blog Post

In 2010, the Japanese Government provided me with proof positive that I am an Alien. It was written on my ID – I had an Alien Card. Someone has finally explained that calling non-Japanese citizens Aliens is not all that polite, and in 2014 I have been issued a Residence Card. In the two months since arriving in Okinawa, I have been registered for a plethora of things, and been issued with a lot of cards and certificates, although I am still using my hanko/inken (seal) from Himeji.

The usefulness of having many forms of ID became apparent when I signed with SoftBank for my phone and internet service. After 90 gruelling minutes using my inadequate Japanese, the Google translator and lots of coloured pamphlets, the sales rep asked for my Bankcard and ID. On closer examination, he decided that neither of them proved I would be staying in Japan long enough to honour the two year contract I was about to sign. Not daunted by this small detail, he had me lay out all of my cards and certificates and finally selected my Health Care and VISA cards, as worthy of providing the necessary guarantee. I now have three
Pick a CardPick a CardPick a Card

...any card
mobile phones, one from Australia, one for Japan and one to contact school personnelle.

Sakura Heights (my cherry blossom pink apartment) is proving to be an excellent place to live. It is located behind Family Mart (a conbini) and Moss Burger. I have completely furnished a 3LDK (3 bedrooms, and combined Lounge, Kitchen & Dining Room) apartment from NITORI (local version of IKEA) and second hand stores. The most terrifying thing I have done was to connect the stove to the gas supply and turn it on. The gas man was happy to give me instructions and a quick demonstration, then leave me to buy my own stove and connect it. I waited for Toni’s visit from Tokyo to summon the courage, and successfully did the deed. I sleep on a futon in my tatami room and have bedding and household goods for 4 people. I am ready for visitors who would like to enjoy the beauty and friendliness of Okinawa.

Okinawa is very hilly: the local terrain goes from sea level to 50 metres above in just afew kilometres. My apartment is at 19 m and my school sits at the top of a 55m hill. Rainy season means that a lot of water falls from the sky continually for 12 or more hours, and it is not typhoon season yet. Therefore, I have bought a very fast 24 gear road bike and a small Mitsubishi EK Wagon (yellow plated 660cc motor called a K Car). The cars’ name is Wabi Sabi. I am slowly learning my way around with the help of lots of mud maps and my Japanese speaking GPS.

Okinawa is very beautiful. Think of a fusion of Sunshine Coast weather, Hawaiian colour, Chinese hospitality and Japanese courtesy and then some. I like it here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

All 4 RoomsAll 4 Rooms
All 4 Rooms

can be seen from anywhere in the apartment.
Bike ParkingBike Parking
Bike Parking

at the front door
LoungeLounge
Lounge

doubles as double guest room
LDKLDK
LDK

Kitchen, Dining, with Lounge next door
GenkanGenkan
Genkan

shoe entry room


1st June 2014

Hello Jacinta, Okinawa sounds great, esp plugging up your own gas stove. Are there many gas explosions there, I wonder. I love reading your blogs. I am still learning smatterings of Japanese, hoping to come over again next year and actually have a conversation in Nihongo. Hello to Toni. Andrea
1st June 2014

Hello!
Hello! and Woof! Woof! from wet and cold Rosewater......xx
2nd June 2014

great to see photos
howdy from rosewater its all a bit sad round here, but I'm ok, as Minnie Moo pass away on Thursday 1st may see little legs dogs rescue facebook. your both take care love elayne

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 32; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb