Scuba Diving - Bolo Point


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Okinawa » Camp Kinser
July 12th 2008
Published: July 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Scuba Diving - Bolo Point




Bolo Point was a great place to scuba dive. I was able to see 2 reef sharks. At one point, one swam right in front of me about 15 feet away. One of the sharks was around 3.5 to 4 feet and the one that swam in front of me was about 5 feet long. They were circling around one area and then swam away when my dive buddy and I approached. Apparently near Bolo Point there are some caves about 100 feet below the surface where it's sandy on the bottom and the sharks like to rest. It was pretty awesome to see sharks that close but I don't think I'd want to mess around with them. Watching them swim around was pretty amazing. They looked like they weren't even trying and they just cruised through the water. I would have to kick like crazy to even go half as fast as them.

I also brought along my fish identification charts in order to name some of the ones I saw today. Although there were tons and tons of fish at Bolo Point, I was only able to identify a few. They included: forcepsfish, regal angelfish, moorish idols, a hawkfish, barrier reef anemonefish, black and red anemonefish, clownfish, turkeyfish, clown triggerfish, bullethead parrotfish. I also saw a crown of thorns starfish. I've posted pictures of what the fish look like. The colors of some of the fish are really amazing. Although the color of the coral is bight in some areas, I find it hard to imagine how most of these fish blend into their surroundings so predators don't eat them up.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0647s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb