Use your noodle!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Oita » Beppu
May 28th 2008
Published: May 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have sad news, well it is incredibly sad for me being here and having lived the memories that the pictures have maybe 10% conveyed......I have no more memory sticks. So you will have to use your imagination as I try to describe things.... The loss of the sticks goes like this....

It is wet now, torrential,, flooding in streets.
It was not wet in Kagoshima, just hot and sultry.
Hence, I went on to kirishima Jingu early today from kagoshima, and on to Takachiho Gawara 35 mins away for a spot of hiking. Met some good fit japanese almost thrice my age!
Great chance to get wetter and some moody misty shots, plus excellent footage at summit in howling wind and rain.
Empited contents of bag carefully to dry things that got wet, camera included, plus memory sticks somewhere safe.
Took train from K Jingu to Miyazaki, then onto Beppu.
Discovered camera with battery but no stick as was removed. Safe place was not there, potentially left on train (distrcated by French traveller who asked to help me with my lugagge), telephone (I still cant use, for some reason!) or platform.

The staff looked everywhere evidently and no sticks. I am really beating myself sily about it, and bloody annoyed I have lost those memories, but alas cannot change a thing. Maybe a ray of light will shine on me and solve it all, I hope! I have given them Chihiros, Hiroshis and mum and dads contact in hope that something will eventuate. Worst case scenario is forking out for 3 megs of memory tomorrow, and at least I am a) in Japan so it is THE place to get it, and b) it occurred at day 5 not day 24! Looking on the bright side is tough sometimes.

So let me describe some key features of the past 2 days to whet your appetite.....

1.Older women dressed in Geisha style or with kimono, doing shopping at convenience store in central cities
2.Foot bathing in Kagoshima with some junior highschool teachers, who incidently train for only 2 yrs
3. Gloved taxi drivers and bus drivers
4. the unfailingly politeness and helpfullness of the Japanese. There spirit is generous and kind and they going on many occasionas exceptionally out of their way to help you.
5. The free internet at most places I have stayed
6. the nice people, non japanese, I have met up with and shared time with, even if it is just hanging before the next train/bus.
7.The singing traffic lights and crossings, very relaxing whistle type noise!
8. The obediency of the japanese
9,. Irrashaimase every time you enter a shop
10. conductors on the train bowing as they enter or exit, be it shinkansen or local chug a lug
11. sleeping on tatami floors and having the best sleep ever....like dossing at a friends place every night
12. pokemon beetles in aso san national park, blue, red and black!
13. azaleas of kyuushuu, just beautiful, the photos of which I will never really seee, boo hoo..
14. cross legged sitting to slurp noodles and tofu, raw fish etc
15. performing fountain that sings and changes colour in kagoshima
16. the plugs for DIGITAL CAMERA or electrical appliances in every train at front of carria, handy!

I am severely tsukareta and feeling a right baka chan so thats it from here, thae brain is shimete imasu!
Beppu - I am deserving of a rub down and mud bath or some pampering, a local speciality, so will indulge tomorrow before heading to Hagi.
And for the first time today I received a compliment on my hair colour from this japanese guy in the guersthouse, how nice to have that, I was having grave doubts and thoughts of chopping it al off at JUSTU CUTSU ASAP. I think I need sleep!!!

A very sombre Pauline 😞


Advertisement



Tot: 0.378s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb