Total eclipse - behold the ring of fire!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Nagano » Takagi
May 21st 2012
Published: May 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well I managed to drag myself out of bed half an hour early to allow enough time to see the eclipse. It started about 6.30 am, with the sky taking on an eerie twilight. As the eclipse progressed, shadows began to take on a weird, hazy double effect. It was a cloudy day, so there was a worry the clouds would obscure the eclipse from view, but luckily this didn't happen. I had to leave for school by 7.45 at the latest, so I sat in my car eagerly awaiting the full eclipse moment, my special glasses at the ready. At dead on 7.30am the moon moved right in front of the sun, blotting it out apart from a ring of blazing light round the edges - very beautiful. By the time I got to school the eclipse was starting to wane. A small group of students and teachers were stood by the car park with a rather cool telescope set up to project the eclipse onto a white screen. All in all a rather splendid morning!

Still no word on when I need to go to the police station. As I understood it, it needed to be within a week of the accident - which was today.....hoping something happens tomorrow and it doesn't drag out too much longer.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



21st May 2012

Wow!
Wow Vic, you're lucky to have seen this. I remember watching the solar eclipse in 1999 - I went to the tip of Portland Bill in Dorset which was near totality. Did the local birds / frogs seem to notice the eclipse? Good luck with the insurance interview. Helen
6th June 2012

Eclipse
yes - it was very exciting and the wildlife was suddenly very quiet! Today we got to see Venus moving across the sun, which was also pretty cool. Luckily I didn't have to go to the police station for the interview in the end, which was a big relief!

Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 60; dbt: 0.081s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb