The Elusive Sanchi


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Mie
November 7th 2009
Published: November 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Not much crazy, new or interesting news to report.

I submitted my thesis to my supervisors yesterday so this is my first official weekend of freedom. I lived it up by sleeping in till 10 am and then watching an episode of Grey's Anatomy (Thank God for torrents and the internet!)

The weather has gotten a LOT warmer here! It's in the 20s today for sure. I was out in a t-shirt and had to open all my windows to get some air through the house. Perfect day for laundry (yes, I'm doing that too hahaha) It's pretty strange getting used to having no drying. My washing machine is one of those spin washers we used to have at the cottage. It gets the clothes mostly dry, but you still have to hang them up. Good for the environment I guess, but a pain in the ass if you desperately need clean clothes.

So while my laundry was drying I decided to head out to enjoy this awesome day (probably one of the last of the season). Walked up to the lookout near the JR station and chilled out for about a half hour just enjoying being on my own and doing nothing. Then I headed on over to the bank to double check that yup, I really do have only $8 in the bank, and then decided I should try to find the elusive Sanchi grocery store everyone has been telling me about since I got here.

The directions I got were always vague - "cross route one" - so I never really had the time to go out and really search. Today though, since I had all the time in the world, I went looking. I found it eventually after 5 miles and a very sore ass. It stood out like a beacon of light right next to the CAINZ hardware I had passed at the very beginning of my trip. Ah well.

I bought myself an apple for lunch for my trouble and ate it with a bit of peanut butter. It should tide me over till dinner. Christ, if I don't lost weight at this point there is something seriously wrong with me!

Will probably head over to Yokkaichi tonight and have a drink with Lacy and Kyle to celebrate my thesis being submitted and to catch up. I haven't had the chance to sit down and have a good drink with them in months! Another load of laundry just finished so I'll leave it there. Talk to you guys soon!

XO

Advertisement



11th November 2009

You Thesis
Im so glad you finished it off. Are you ready to defend? dad xo
27th April 2010

Conglaturations for your thesis being submitted.

Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 57; dbt: 0.078s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb