Typhoon Melor


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Mie
October 8th 2009
Published: October 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So it would figure that my first landfall typhoon experience in Japan wouldn't just be any old run of the mill typhoon. It has to be a super typhoon - Typhoon Melor to be exact. The first typhoon to make landfall in Japan in over two years (in October, no less!)

This thing barreled directly into my prefecture at about 4 this morning. We were right in its path so we had about a month's worth of rain dumped on us in a couple of hours and a ridiculous amount of wind. My apartment was actually trembling. Granted, I'm on the side that got the brunt of the wind, and in the end unit, but still - it's made of concrete!

Anyhoodle, after taking some videos with my cell and peeking my head outside to see what a typhoon actually looked like, I went back to sleep around 5:30 and about half an hour later the wind stopped, just like that, and the rain let up too. By the time I headed in to school this morning around 8 the sky was sunny and the puddles were drying. The rice fields were ridiculously full of water though. I took a picture and will post it up later as a before and after. These things are pretty deep too so the fact that they were practically overflowing is just insane!

Otherwise, it's been an absolutely gorgeous day! Warm, windy, and beautiful. After nearly a week of rain it's a welcome break! Most students didn't show up today since the train lines were closed until after noon sometime and many of them commute. Which means that the only two classes I had today were cancelled. Yay! I've spent the day just sort of going about, doing my thing. It's even nicer because I have tomorrow off too!

And now that the typhoon is out of the way I'm free and clear to fly up north to Jim's place tomorrow. I'm really looking forward to it 😊 Can't wait to explore the mountains. I've made sure to pack some extra sweaters though. It's about 10 degrees colder up north than it is down where I am. Eugh no thanks! I like my mild weather just fine :D

So in my first two months (almost to the day) in Japan, I've experience and earthquake AND a major typhoon! What's next? Not sure I want to know hahaha What other natural disasters could Japan have? Volcanic eruptions? Fuji you feeling gurgley yet?

Advertisement



12th October 2009

I remember my first typhoon... it was August, and the power went out, so I was stuck inside my dark, humid apartment all day long with nothing to do. So of course I went outside and took video. :) Have fun visiting Jim!
20th April 2010

I'm glad you are safe.

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0605s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb