Hongwanji


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kyoto » Kyoto
September 22nd 2014
Published: October 27th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I stepped out of my hotel at Capsule Ryokan and just spotted this across the street. I decided to see what could be seen, and besides enjoying exploring the grounds of the temple and its accommodations, was rewarded when I just happened upon the Karamon Gate within. I was probably only here about 30 minutes, but like most things in Japan, it was a brief moment of Zen.


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Off to schoolOff to school
Off to school

All of these kids, all seemed to be university level students, were taking a left into this facility just down the sidewalk a ways









Karamon GateKaramon Gate
Karamon Gate

This was the first of two gates with this elaborate decoration that I found

Lots of open spaceLots of open space
Lots of open space

No grass to maintain


Karamon GateKaramon Gate
Karamon Gate

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Karamon





Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0321s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb