Sayonara Shibushi


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kagoshima » Shibushi
July 28th 2007
Published: August 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Word MasterWord MasterWord Master

My friend, Otsuji-sensei, after a game of scrabble on his farm.
This will be my last posting from Shibushi. I find it amusing that I'm writing my last post from the same place I wrote my first post - Popeye Internet Cafe! I only have about 15 minutes before my time runs out so this will be an extremely quick update.

It has been about a month since my last entry. Since then I've busy wrapping everything up - teaching my last classes, having farewell parties with the various groups I've worked with, seeing friends one last time. I am scheduled to leave town on Monday, though I won't actually leave the prefecture until August 1st.

I know my entries haven't always been super-positive but as I have been getting ready to head out, I've been appreciating all the things I have come to love about this place. Mostly, I still marvel over the beautiful scenery I'm faced with every time I look out my window or walk out my door. I couldn't have asked for anything better than to be surrounded by mountains, forests and ocean!

I've also been enjoying things that are particularly Japanese. My friends and I ate an obscene amount of sushi in the
Last classLast classLast class

This was my miracle class. They actually scared me when I started teaching because they were so unruly. But something changed this year, maybe I lightened up or they got more serious, but they became my favourite class. They even gave me flowers and a card signed by each of them after our last class. The writing in the background is my name in kanji (Chinese characters)
last few weeks and I've become a karaoke fiend, serenading entire bars full of people after a few drinks (oh dear!) Despite the pressure of getting all my bags packed and my apartment cleaned for the next ALT, I've been having the most fun I've had all year. Finally, I almost fit in!

Still, I don't feel much regret about leaving. I did feel a little sad after a recent English camp where I got to spend two days getting to know some of the first grade English Course students I hadn't taught this year. By the end of the camp I had exchanged e-mail addresses with about 6 of them and we all got a little misty eyed when we said goodbye. But my plans for the next 5 months are too exciting for any second thoughts.

Starting Monday I'll begin working my way to Hokkaido, Japan's northernmost prefecture, hiking and camping and taking buses, trains and ferries to get there. Although there are plenty of cultural things to see along the way, my goal for this part of the trip is to do as much hiking as possible, since my favourite part of the country is
Kayaking KasasaKayaking KasasaKayaking Kasasa

Satoko and I during a frustrating kayak ride around the beach we were swimming at in Bonotsu. This was the same place we came trekking.
the landscape. I've got about 3 3-day hikes planned into my itinerary.

After a month of trekking around Japan, I'm set to sail to Shanghai, China aboard a two-day ferry that leaves from Osaka. I'm hoping to spend a month touring China before heading down to Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos, Thailand and Malaysia for another month. Then I'll be off to India for the remainder of my trip before heading home to Montreal for Christmas.

I must admit I'm a bit nervous about starting out on my own. But I feel a bit comforted by the fact that I'll at least be in Japan, where communication should be fairly easy. I've also been reassured by my friends with backpacking experience that I'll meet people along the way. I can't help but wonder who else is planning to take this route...

With that being said, anyone interested in joining up with me at any point during my trip should let me know!

Signing off from Shibushi City, Kagoshima.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

YukataYukata
Yukata

Satoko and I posing in traditional summer dress (yukata) with her friend, and our gracious host, Satomi after the Kasasa festival.
Sushi ToraSushi Tora
Sushi Tora

The "regulars" posing after our last meal at our favourite sushi restaurant. We went so often they knew my name!
Cutie PinkCutie Pink
Cutie Pink

My group ("Cutie Pink") and me after the 2-day English camp. It was pretty hard to say goodbye.
TaikoTaiko
Taiko

Students doing a Taiko drumming performance at the school Culture Festival
Wedding PartyWedding Party
Wedding Party

A group of teachers at the after-party for our co-worker's wedding. All my clothing, hair-styling, accessories and make-up were graciously provided by Mai.
Calm after the stormCalm after the storm
Calm after the storm

Shibushi Bay the day after a typhoon. Though a few trees were knocked down by the wind, I had a beautiful walk through the "International Forest" all by myself. And the weather was perfect!
Mai's ManicureMai's Manicure
Mai's Manicure

Mai painted my nails to match my yukata before the festival. At least one of us is fashion conscious!


29th July 2007

Please change my email address
Hi Emilie: As always - wonderful to hear from you - I'm leaving Spectra Energy and will continue consulting on my own so if you could please use my other email address it's khydecorp@mac.com Thanks again for your sharing - everytime I read about your adventures and see the beautiful photos - I always think about how little I've seen in the world... Take care during your travels and I can't wait to hear more about your experiences along the way. Luv, Kelly
29th July 2007

Hi Em, great entry! Enjoy your travels, stay safe and see you soon in Calgary!!!!!!

Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0725s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb