Hanami


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kagawa
April 6th 2008
Published: April 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

If you could describe a perfect day, what would it include? For me; sun, a cool breeze, pink blossoms falling around you like rain, laughter, good conversation, new friends, tasty food, plenty of drink, fun, games, goldfish and the undeniable feeling of new beginnings brought by spring. This is Hanami.

Spring is an important season in Japan and considered by most to be the best season. People get together during the short week that the cherry blossoms(sakura) are blooming and have picnics. I was lucky enough to get many invitations to Hanami parties (literally means hana - flower, mi - viewing), but I could only go to two because of my work schedule. The first one was in Takamatsu at Ritsurin Koen. The weather was hotter then I expected and I quickly shed my jacket on the way to the park. When I arrived it was crowded and there were several stalls near the entrance selling food. I grabbed some yummy looking pastries on the way to the north side of the park where my friends had staked out a spot. After leisurely admiring the general scene I located my friends. Hanami wasn’t what I expected, but it was wonderful.
SakuraSakuraSakura

Sakura is the Japanese word for cherry blossom
I moved around talking to various people, soaking up the sun and admiring the view. Everyone brought different kinds of food and drink and we all shared. The sakura were truly a magnificent backdrop to the event. They seem from a distance to almost have a pink glow, but when you get really close to the flowers they appear to be a gentle white hue. Their texture is soft, yet they feel and sound like tissue paper when you touch them.

I left the party in Takamatsu later then I had planned and hurried back to Marugame and headed straight for Marugame Castle. I made it there in plenty of time to admire the blossoms there and find my friends before dusk fell upon the city. I met more people and tried my hand at a tricky traditional Japanese festival game were you catch goldfish with rice paper. The trick is to scoop the fish quickly without breaking the paper. I now have two pet goldfish. ^_^ My poor new goldfish spent part of the evening hanging in a tree while I chatted with my friends from dusk until well past dark. Then I traveled with them to a bar where they got to watch the all the crazy people drinking from their perch on a coat hook. Finally I decided it was time for me to head home. I grabbed up my goldfish said goodbye to my friend and went out into the night.

I didn’t go home. I went back to the castle. I was drawn to the glow of lights beneath the cherry trees. The cherry blossoms were lit up from underneath and they shone like pink beacons above the city. I climbed up the steep paths to the very top enjoying the lanterns and blossoms above me, below me and next to me. It was a leisurely walk, just me and my new fish. I didn’t want such a wonderful day to end, but I know that moments have to pass to make room for others. When I finally tore myself away from the grounds I didn’t head back to my apartment then either. After everything that happened during the day I needed to let things settle before I went back home. I walked down the street to see where a café was a student was talking about. Then I found my way home taking new paths.



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

^_^^_^
^_^

The people I met were amazing and sweet.
Sakaide CitySakaide City
Sakaide City

I took a picture out the train window at Sakaide station on my way back to Marugame from Takamatsu.
Sakura above the moatSakura above the moat
Sakura above the moat

Marugame Castle has an impressive amount of sakura trees.
Tree lined pathTree lined path
Tree lined path

When there are festivals in the summer there are tons of food stalls like these.
My new petsMy new pets
My new pets

I named them Sakura and Getsu. I figured they were Japanese goldfish so they needed Japanese names. ^_^
Friendly FolksFriendly Folks
Friendly Folks

Haha. I'm hiding. ^_^


10th April 2008

i like your fish
I miss you bunches. Wish i could be there instead of holed up on boring America. Totally digging on your fish. So you have to catch fish with rice paper? I'm a little confused. Are they just throwing live fish without water in the air and someone has to catch them? Seems a little inhumane. I'm hoping I'm just really confused. Let's "catch" fish!
11th April 2008

Very inspiring.

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb