Ritsurin Park


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kagawa » Takamatsu
March 10th 2008
Published: March 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Warmer weather was finally starting to show its face in Shikoku and I headed out to Takamatsu for the day. A few sources had stated that the plum blossoms in Ritsurin Park were blooming and worth the trip to see. The park is easy to find in Takamatsu. You just head down Chuo Dori (Central Street) from the station and it is on the left. It is the largest traditional Japanese Garden I’ve seen so far. It has a museum of Japanese traditional art, a gift shop, at least two tea houses and several ponds. According to my map it takes two hours to walk around the entire park. The park is nestled around the base of Mt. Shiun which acts as a green back drop. Year round there is something beautiful you can see there. Plum blossoms and cherry blossoms in the spring, flowering irises and lotuses in the summer, maple leaves in fall and snow and bright camellias in winter.
When I entered the park I grabbed a map. Actually it wasn’t that simple. The lady at the gate kept trying to give me the French one. Anyway, after I got a map I headed for the north orchard of plum trees. I took the round about way catching only glimpses of the trees until I crossed the bridge on the other side of the grove. The area practically glowed with white and pink light. The trees smelled heavenly. The trees created a perfume that man can’t match. The few apricot trees on the edge of the grove were also blooming and filling the air with perfume. The apricot trees have a heavier more syrupy smell compared to the plum trees. After a lengthy stroll beneath the trees I headed in the direction of the south orchard. The perfume followed me for quite a ways as I ventured into the cool, green pine covered paths. Every tree in the park is manicured. Twigs, leaves and branches are cultivated to have specific patterns and shapes. I met a gaijin, like myself, in the park towards the end of my journey. He lives in Takamatsu and ended up in the park by accident. He was lost. We left together and grabbed some pizza. It was nice to have randomly met someone to chill with. I gave him my map of Takamatsu before I headed out of town. ^_^



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

RitsurinRitsurin
Ritsurin

The Japanese think this pine trees looks like a crane taking off and that the rock looks like a turtle.


11th March 2008

Words can't describe how beautiful those pictures are. I would love to be surrounded by such beauty. Keep taking tons of pictures and blogging. I'm living vicariously through you! :-D
16th March 2008

I want to sit in the park all day and listen to the koto. Thanks for sharing these magnificent photos.
31st March 2008

your pictures are great but I also enjoy your descriptive writing! miss you...

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 24; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb