Hanabi


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kagawa » Tadotsu
August 3rd 2008
Published: August 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hanabi is Japanese for fireworks. (Hanabi sounds similar to Hanami, cherry blossom viewing.) Hana means flower and bi means fire. I think "fire flowers" is an aweome way to describe fireworks.
My first fireworks festival in Japan and I’m all decked out in yukata! It took me awhile but I figured out all by myself how to put on the yukata properly and tie the obi. Mark met me at my apartment and Naohiro picked us up and drove us to his house in Tadotsu. From there we walked to the docks where everyone was gathered together. The crowd was a colorful mix of men and women in yukatas and normal wear. There were food stalls selling various things along one side. The Takoyaki was the worst Takoyaki ever made, but the squid on a stick was to die for. ^_^
The fireworks lasted for about 40 minutes and the show was well choreographed. The dock was set up with loudspeakers that played music and the sky was lit up with various colors. We sat of the sidewalk and enjoyed the show and sipped beer and chu-hi. After the festival we stayed around the docks for an hour talking and waiting for the traffic to die out before heading out of Tadotsu and back to Marugame where we played poker for a couple of hours. I can’t wait for the Hanabi in Marugame at the end of the month!



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

ahhhh.......ahhhh.......
ahhhh.......

I really need to get a tripod for my camera.
Cool beans ^_^Cool beans ^_^
Cool beans ^_^

Thank really are fire flowers. :P
After the showAfter the show
After the show

Left to right: Me, Hiromi, Tyler, June and Na-chan.
Boys will be boysBoys will be boys
Boys will be boys

Left to right: Naohiro, Mark and Tyler


Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0728s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb