Okasan and Otasan


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Iwate » Morioka
July 5th 2008
Published: August 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

DinnerDinnerDinner

Okasan, Me, Otasan, close friend and his daughter
My first day teaching at my new school in Daishin had me on the doorstep of probably the most generous and hospitable families I have ever met. As I was 5 hours early for my classes that day (I was only new so that’s to be expected) I met my Japanese Teacher Chikako for the first time and she was telling about the family who lived next door to the school. After preparing my lessons she offered to take me over and introduce me. We rang the door bell and this lovely older man came to the door with a very fluffy poodle names Iffi. “Konichiwa” he said and bowed politely my name is Junichi. I said hello and he pointed to the garden where his wife was so we walked over. I saw this humble lady fully equip with gardening hat, gloves and apron. She said “Konichiwa” and proceeded to speak to me in fluent Japanese so of course I didn’t understand a word she was saying and desperately looked at Chikako to help translate for me. Her name was Junco she asked me many questions and before I knew it I had accepted a dinner invitation for that Saturday
Dinner Dinner Dinner

Dinner at Oksasan and Otasan friends home
night. I was delighted as this is what my experience in Japan was all about. Chikako and I headed back to the classroom and as she was leaving I asked “how will we speak to each other when I go there for dinner?” “Oh, well you speak English and they speak Japanese!”
Saturday night came around and I have to say I was quite nervous. I had my phrase book with me and thought what are we going to speak about. I invited Megan too as I know she would love to meet them also. I have to tell you it was one of the most memorable experiences I have had since living in Japan and there were many more nights like it. We walked into Junco and Junichi’s home where it was just as I imagined a Japanese home to look like. Cluttered with nic nac’s everywhere, pictures all over the walls, sewing piled high, bottles of sake out on the table, and the smell of Japanese cooking in the air it was such a welcoming and homely feel I felt so comfortable straight away. It looked like Junco had been cooking all day cause there was so much
DinnerDinnerDinner

Families combined
food! We Sat down on a heated rug on the floor and watched as Junco cooked Okonmiyaki on a hot plate right in front of us. Okonminyaki is like a savoury pancake with egg, flour, water, squid, fish, herbs, vegetables it’s absolutely delicious and of course you have it with lashings of BBQ sauce, mayonnaise and fish flakes! I have come to learn that the Japanese put mayonnaise on just about everything. We made small chit chat with a Japanese to English converter which Junco had and our phrase books, all while we stuffed our faces with food and sake. The more sake we drank the more Japanese we understood, it’s absolutely amazing. lol That night we met Junco’s two daughters Minako (the youngest) and Satoko and her husband Furukun. The night continued on until just after midnight when our stomachs were full and we were red faced from all the sake. Okasan and Otasan (which means Mother & father in Japanese) and we now like to call them, invited us on skiing trips in the winter, hiking and onsens in summer, festivals and more; they wanted to take us and show us everywhere! It has become a routine that
FoodFoodFood

Down the bottom is tempura plant which Okasan picked that day - oishy!
I come over for dinner one Saturday a month when I am teaching at Daishin and whenever Junco has popped over to the school and said the words “Go han taba ni kuru” translated to “would you like to come to dinner” which I always reply with “hai arigato gosimas” (yes thank you). I feel I am so lucky that I get to experience the true cultural of Japan….its people.



Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

FoodFood
Food

Okoniminyaki
Renee & meRenee & me
Renee & me

after a few sake
Renee & me Renee & me
Renee & me

more sake...
Renee wearing my glassesRenee wearing my glasses
Renee wearing my glasses

Everyone must have been a little blind that night!
DinnerDinner
Dinner

Furukun, Iffi, Okasan, Me, Megan
DinnerDinner
Dinner

Otasan, Iffi, Okasan, Me, Megan & Chikako
Our Japanese FamilyOur Japanese Family
Our Japanese Family

Otasan, Satako, Okasan, Megan, Renee & Me
DinnerDinner
Dinner

otasan, iffi, Megan & Renee
DinnerDinner
Dinner

Megan, Choco & Renee
DinnerDinner
Dinner

Renee & Me
DinnerDinner
Dinner

Megan, Renee & Me
DinnerDinner
Dinner

Choco, Megan & Renee
Playing WiiPlaying Wii
Playing Wii

Megan, Minako, Miho, Me & Renee


Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb