Castle!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hyogo » Himeji
December 28th 2007
Published: December 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So I did master the train/bus system and ended up all the way in Himeji, Japan! The train ride was about 1.5hrs. It was nice cause I liked just realaxing and watching everything outside. I got to see the Ocean side of Osaka on my way out. Very cool. The worst part of the day was waking up to the rain. Yup, its raining and its cold. But thankfully it wasnt too bad in Himeji, looked like a good ady to get away from Kyoto. Cause when I got back it was even colder and wetter then when i left.

Himeji was awesome! I got some great pics. And they even let us go up in the castle. I think this castle was for powerful Shoguns back in the day. I think it housed many generations. There were all these neat things in the castle too, but the best was the view. You could look out the windows and see Himeji and all the mountains in the background, or you should bend down a little and look out the peep holes. Those peep holes were neat cause thats where the bow and arrow or people with guns would sit and
HimejiHimejiHimeji

Wonderful view from inside the castle!
shot the enemy if they got too close. After the castle I walked about the city for a little bit, and then made it back to Kyoto. I was so tired from all that. The night before I didnt get to bed til after 12pm (and I was out walking for close to 12hrs yesterday too). Some people in my hostel just got together and talked. It was pretty neat, got to get to know some people from Canada (teaching/working in Korea now), a guy from Paris, someone from Mexico City and two Japanese (one of whom worked here) people. Oh, and one girl from Finland. It was a lot of fun getting to know everyone, seems like im the least traveled tho, and being American, I know the least languages. Everyone was speaking English, which is just profound for me to realize that almost everyone needs to speak English now.

Well, its raining and its cold. I woke up early, around 7am, so less then 7hrs sleep (which is still more then I get back in the States, but because of everything ive been doing in Japan Ive been getting 8-9hrs easy!). Im in debae about going out and just getting something quick to eat. I wanted to go out to the Fugu place, but that might be tomorrow. Too cold!! Ahhhh theres just tooo much to do in Kyoto! One guy in my Japanese class said, "Wow, 9days in Kyoto, I dont know if there is 9days worth of stuf to do!". But I disagree. I think I could easy add a few more days and still not get evething in.

Tomorrow: Walk of Philosophy, Silver Temple, some more Temples and Shrines, and before that, some secret of Kyoto. I dont really know what it is, somethinga bout walking down underground some temple in the dark. I guess when you come out, its like coming out into the womb of buddha? I dunno. So Im going to check all those things out tomorrow! Hopefuly tonight Ill put up some pics too!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb