Hokkaido - Part 1


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hokkaido
July 22nd 2006
Published: July 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Konan BusKonan BusKonan Bus

I took this to Aomori, on the northern tip of the main island. It was an 8 hour night trip.
I took many pictures, and haven't updated in a long time, so this'll probably be easier if I split it into parts. There won't be many, maybe 2 or 3, and most of it takes place in Hokkaido.

In early June, I decided to go to Hokkaido, the northernmost island of Japan. It's colder than Tokyo, and the landscape is very similar to that of British Columbia. Extremely similar.

I arrived via a combination of bus, ferry, hitchhiking, and trains. It took 2 days, and I was exhausted and exuding foul odors by the end, but it was an interesting experience, and cost much less than a plane or bullet train.

I lived in the small town of Akan Ko, a tourist spot famous for the Marimo, a circular algae. It's also home to many Ainu, the indigenous peoples of Hokkaido. Every shop in Akan Ko sells either Ainu crafts or Marimo. Aside from the many hotels and tourist shops, the town is a bit empty, but very beautiful, situated right beside large mountains and tree ranges, and on a lake (the "Ko" in Akan Ko means "Lake").

Through a program called WWOOF, Willing Workers on Organic
Aomori BridgeAomori BridgeAomori Bridge

I thought this was neat.
Farms, I had arranged to work in a restaurant there. In exchange for my work, I was given food and a room. I worked about 5-8 hours a day. Setting tables, clearing tables, washing dishes,etc. It wasn't fun, and quite aggravating at times, but the cook for the workers made good food, so I was happy.

Eventually they started paying me, which was a very welcome surprise, and made the work more tolerable.

I'm going to stop here. I'm going to Australia in 2 days and I have some things to take care of. This writing is beyond awful. I apologize. My brain is a bit muddled at the moment, but I wanted to get this done. The next update should be much better, but maybe not.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

VendingVending
Vending

Delicious hot vending machine food. I've never tried it.
ArtArt
Art

At the ferry terminal.
Ferry InteriorFerry Interior
Ferry Interior

This was very interesting. Unlike the ferries in Canada, this one didn't have chairs. Just a big room with little pillow things lining the walls. It was very comfortable. I had a nice nap.
Land Ho!Land Ho!
Land Ho!

Hakodate, a big city in Western Hokkaido, and the ferry's destination.
Toya StationToya Station
Toya Station

I arrived at this little station after getting a ride from Hakodate with a truck driver. He was very nice. I slept on the bench until morning. It was very cold, I had to buy some hot coffee cans from a machine and put them in my sweater to keep warm.
NoodlesNoodles
Noodles

German Potato. Quite good. Those cup noodle designers have some strange ideas.
Toya Station outsideToya Station outside
Toya Station outside

I found this quite pleasant.
My RoomMy Room
My Room

This is where I stayed for awhile. It's an employees house, with about 8 rooms, a kitchen, and a bath warmed by the nearby volcano. The top floor was myself, two Americans, and a Frenchman.
SunSun
Sun

Sun.
ToiletToilet
Toilet

The piggy is charming.
StreetStreet
Street

The street I lived on. It's named after Marimo... the algae.
Street 2Street 2
Street 2

Very different from Tokyo.
MarimoMarimo
Marimo

The legend itself. This simple algae spawned an incredible tourist industry, and is known throughout Japan.


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb