Hiroshima


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hiroshima » Hiroshima
March 30th 2016
Published: March 30th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Hiroshima city.

Okay so, I went to the castle and had okonomiyaki which was really good as well but the focus is the atomic bomb.

Well known for the first ever atomic bomb target in the world. The city completely demolished after the detonation of "Little Boy". I began my day by going to the atomic bomb dome. One of the few remaining buildings after the bombing. Of course, as expected, an insane amount of tourists, which in my opinion SUCKS. But hey, it is high season so fuck it. After that I made my way to the victim memorial museum. Intrigued by the design of the museum and the memorial hall, I decided to look at some photo's and videos. There is a huge accessable archive of victims sharing their story and photographs. I was amazed ( not in a good way ) by how much destruction such a small A-bomb ( in comparison to the ones we have today ) already wiped an entire city off the map. Up next was the museum itself. The entire complex of memorials is a huge park with 2 museums, statues and the fire of peace. So entering the museum you get to see all of the effects an A-bomb has. Pictures of extreme burns, children deformed, people completely vanished by flames ( shadows were the only thing left ). As I made my way through I realised seeing all of this is nothing compared to the history books or documentaries. I was disgusted by the fact that the USA actually did this. And not only this, they dropped an even bigger one on Nagasaki ( which I will go to as well ). The shere damage this little bomb has done is nothing compared to what would happen if one would go off in our time now. It would wipe out entire countries. Leaving nothing behind but a smoldering desert of radioactive death. I was very sad after this, because you have to realise decades of destruction and health issues followed the already devastating consequence. Children being born, unable to hear or speak thus being cast out, always being by themselves. Children being born and dying the same day. Mothers feeling guilty for giving birth. Entire families never to be seen again.
People alway fearing the next day of their lives because they did not know what diseases they would get next. And this went one for decades. Even now there are health issues because of this.
If, IF, an atomic bomb/war will happen, Einstein will once again be proven right.

"I know not with what weapons WW3 will be fought, but WW4 will be fought with sticks and stones"

A sad post. But I had to let you know.

Lou

Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb