Day 08: And so my journey ends at Hiroshima (Jun 2019)


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hiroshima » Hiroshima
June 30th 2019
Published: May 2nd 2020
Edit Blog Post

Sunday, 30th June 2019

Breakfast was a happy affair at Royal Host, one of the nicer restaurants in the city that opens early in the day and closes late into the night. I liked how well my scrambled egg turned out to be - creamy, soft and full of flavour. Unfortunately, the toast on my plate was slightly browned even though the coffee tasted great as usual.

Armed with a One Day Ticket, I proceeded to the Peace Memorial Park after breakfast and the loop bus dropped me a couple of stops later in front of the Orizu Tower, Hiroshima's newest icon. Admission to the wooden observatory at level 12 cost a whopping 1,700 Yen which should provide a clear vantage view of the Peace Memorial Park surrounds even though I had rather part my Yen on foods and souvenirs.

The usual approach to the Park brought me to the UNESCO Heritage, Atomic Bomb Dome followed by a short visit to the free Hiroshima National Peace Memorial Hall. The highlight of the day would be a visit to the neighbouring Peace Memorial Museum which was recently re-opened after a long period of renovation.

After soaking in the "heavy" contents at the museum, I decided to stop by at the SOGO Departmental Store and reward myself with some waffles and ice-cream. Following which, it was time to head back to the hotel for some onsen time before dinner at the JR Station. There were just too many amazing dinner choices available within the station itself.

With an early flight to catch the following day, I decided to end my day early in order to wake up on time for my journey home. Thank you Japan and I would be back again very soon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0584s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb