Fukuoka, Japan


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Fukuoka » Fukuoka
January 9th 2013
Published: January 9th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Seeing that I had a 9 days off from work it was a good opportunity for me to see a new country. I originally wasn’t planning on traveling anywhere. While talking with my girlfriend, she convinced me that she could find inexpensive flights. So I figured why not. In any event, before I knew it I had a round trip ticket to Fukuoka, Japan.

On the day we arrived in Japan it was in the afternoon so we just settled in to our room and then went to Fukuoka Tower. It was really cold and windy new the sea. But the tower was pretty amazing. We went to the top of the tower at night time so the cityscape was quite amazing. That was in for day one.

On the second day we just bummed around Fukuoka and see what the city had to offer. At night we headed to an area call Canal City. I was kind of like a huge mall with a stream that ran through the center of it. There were all sorts of shops and restaurants and it was a pretty cool place. There were a ton of Christmas lights everywhere.

On the third day my lady friend and I went to Hakata Station (subway and train station) and bought a Rail pass for the northern part of the island. It was quite pricy, but worth it. On this day we headed to Nagasaki . It was about a 2 hour train ride. Nagasaki was the second city the United States dropped an atomic bomb on. We made our way to Peace Park, were the hyper center of where the atomic bomb was detonated. I was a ridiculously eerie feeling being in a spot where all life ceased to exist 70 some years ago. Next to the Peace Park was a museum which had a ton of artifacts from after the detonation of the bomb. It was sad and fascinating. After several hours in Nagasaki we headed back to Fukuoka.

On the following day we jumped on another train headed to Huis Ten Bosch . This was a HUGE theme park with the theme being a Dutch city. It was pretty incredible! It was like we were in the Netherlands, aside from the massive amount of Asians everywhere. Haha. At the theme park they had a section called Art Park, which was a massive area covered with LED lights of varying colors. It was awesome!!! By night fall it got to be pretty cold so we were ready to head back to the hotel.

On our final day we took it easy. We went back to Canal City to get s proper lunch as CURRY HOUSE CoCo ICHIBANYA, delicious Japanese curry. I love curry! After lunch we packed up and headed to the airport for our return trip. After the trip I had a few more days of vacation.

It was a great trip, a relaxing trip. I’ve included a bunch of photos. Enjoy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 60, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Fried RiceFried Rice
Fried Rice

Delisious!


Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0613s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb