Tis the Season


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Ehime » Matsuyama
December 17th 2006
Published: December 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Jingle BellsJingle BellsJingle Bells

Reindeer antlers with bells that I use in my elementary classes...and at Suk's party.
Last weekend started in a blur of jolliness and holly, with the Okudogo Christmas party. JETs from all over Ehime gathered Friday night to celebrate the coming holidays. It didn't matter if you celebrate Christmas at home. We are in Japan now, and I assure each one of us has been asked at least a few times for a Christmas-themed classroom activity or lesson. When I first attempted to explain to one of my teachers that we can't really make Christmas cards in school in the US, she didn't understand why there should be a separation between school and religion. Religion is much of an idea rather than a practice here in Japan. Sure, I know one girls whose father and even her sister are Buddhist monks at the temple near my house. And every morning at 6am I can here the meditative taiko drums from the worship center across the street. Yet a lot of Japanese hang Christmas decorations, but don't plan to attend a church service a week from today or any day. It is an interesting topic here, and I am still attempting to understand the many forms of religion and belief the people here practice or attest
Dance partyDance partyDance party

Let it all hang out (once you're sure the other teachers aren't around to see your foolishness!)
to.
In the meantime, I get to plan holiday lessons that I never got when I was a student. Lots of singing Jingle Bells; making Christmas cards is always a good one, since the tradition here is to give a New Year's card with lottery numbers on it for good luck in the coming year. The Junior High students love it when I explain mistletoe to them. I hang up my fake plant on the board and draw to stick people under it, and add a smooching sound. "EEEHHHH!!???" (what!!?? No way!!???) Yes, a tradition at holiday parties. Any questions? ---"Can we have a Christmas party!!???" Yeah, ummm, maybe next year.
So needless to say, all of the JETs have been involved in some sort of holiday planning, which made the Christmas party all the more perfect. It also gave us a chance to say goodbye before everyone heads off to their native countries or to visit distant lands. Thailand is popular this year, as the families in the US. As for me, I get to go to school Christmas day and watch the 2nd term closing ceremonies. Not that I would do anything exciting by myself if I stayed
MeowMeowMeow

A Japanese (christmas?) cat
at home. I do hope to have an xmas dinner downtown with some friends before hopping on the overnight bus for Tokyo, where I will meet my parents for 2 weeks of tours! Until then its baking cookies, watching xmas movies and wrapping teachers' presents to put me in the holiday spirit.
Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Which way is up?Which way is up?
Which way is up?

Do I have to work tomorrow? I hope not...
Blue steelBlue steel
Blue steel

Our Zoolander debut
Mistletoe lessonMistletoe lesson
Mistletoe lesson

They couldn't believe it! Kissing at a Christmas party! No role playing for this lesson.
Santa and a silly reindeerSanta and a silly reindeer
Santa and a silly reindeer

This kid really got into the Christmas spirit!
Christmas songsChristmas songs
Christmas songs

Teaching a few new jingles at an Elementary Christmas party.
Jingle Bells danceJingle Bells dance
Jingle Bells dance

That's the principal (Kyoto sensei) dancing along with the kids and me!


19th December 2006

Merry Merry!
Hey Mar - Loved the pictures, and hope that you are enjoying a bit of holiday cheer over there. I would have loved to see the looks on those kids faces when you explained mistletoe...then that little glimmer, like 'hmmm, that actually sounds pretty sweet..." Jenna and I had a Christmas party here in Rochester last Saturday, and at the last minute we realized we had not mistletoe - gasp! - so cut a branch off of our Christmas tree and strung it in the doorway. It looked ridiculous, but did the job! Love you, miss you!

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0636s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb