Yum yum turkey day


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Ehime » Matsuyama
November 24th 2006
Published: November 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

A not so gloomy day in the rainA not so gloomy day in the rainA not so gloomy day in the rain

Ethan hiding out from the rain in the shanty. That\\\'s the \\\"LOST\\\" island in the backround!
Last weekend was a great time visiting Ethan's little island out on the Inland Sea. (Hey fam, check out his blog on the same site. He is one of the only other bloggers in Ehime prefecture.) After just barely making the same ferry as the rest of the party had boarded, it was an extra hour out to his place. Definitely "lost". No grocery store, 4 ferry services each day. And it was wonderful. We made our own fun in the cold rain, hiking around his island. Next time (when its a bit warmer) we are planning a "LOST" party on the tiny island just off his shores. Camping and searching for the "others" will be the events of that night. Can't wait for spring.
I had a great Thanksgiving here in Hojo. I think I was so worried about missing out on the traditional festivities with Mom's side of the fam down in the Quad Cities, that instead I went all out. Ended up hosting 12 friends to dinner at my little flat. Dinner was great and there was plenty of food. Cooked my first pumpkin pie. Actually, they don't have pumpkins here so I made it with acorn squash
the gangthe gangthe gang

Playing with little jellies found on the beach
but it tasted just about the same once I added condensed milk. Delish. Of course there was the mashed potatoes, dressing, gravy, fruit platter, cheese and crackers, veggie platter and biscuits. Am I forgetting something? Oh, the bird. Yes, we had 2 chickens. No turkey would fit in my microwave with oven functions. So I ordered ready made rotisserie chickens from the flying pig. Perfect. And plenty of drink and desserts. It was a very social evening, lasting further into the evening than any of my previous Thanksgivings in Illinois. But I did miss the walk after the big meal.
Since the dinner was Wednesday night, I actually had Thursday all day off from school. I woke up early to clean some space for the new couch that was to be delivered. The doorbell rang early and I was quite confused. Outside stood the delivery man with boxes from fbc (foreign buyer's club). I asked him if he had the wrong apartment (that has happened before). No, no, they were for me!!!! Presents from the fam back home! I raced to get the big boxes inside and tear them open. A christmas wreath, 2 huge blocks of cheese with crackers,
Getting hungryGetting hungryGetting hungry

A few of my guests waiting for the "go ahead" on the feast.
cookie and brownie mix!! Amazing. My parents could never let me entertain friends without being assured I had enough cheese to serve on a bocas plate. Later my couch came. I think the delivery men were quite confused by the number of bodies in the neighboring room and by me, watching them set up the couch in my pj's. Oh, well, they were quick and the new furniture looks great.
Some friends that had stayed the night went out to lunch with me at the Betty Crocker's. Then the rainy day turned into a lazy movie afternoon and nap time followed by okonimiyake (or however you spell it). Ethan, I though you should know, my "tea" friend mailed me a map of restaraunts in the Hojo area today at school, 3 of which are okonomiyake places that she says are great. She didn't list our place...
So now I have to recover from the craziness and pack for Hiroshima. Catching the 5:45am train to Matsuyama~ferry it from there!



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

the spreadthe spread
the spread

Yum yum
How was it?How was it?
How was it?

Same image every time from Andrew...there's just no pleasing this kid.
Go for it StephanieGo for it Stephanie
Go for it Stephanie

What is a party without spirits and cake, pie, more cake??
A new Thanksgiving traditionA new Thanksgiving tradition
A new Thanksgiving tradition

Next year, Uncle Galen, we WILL have sangria mix in the bathroom!
Turkey day surpriseTurkey day surprise
Turkey day surprise

Truly surprised!! Thank you, Mom and Dad!! Going to have to test out that cookie mix soon...
A comfy seatA comfy seat
A comfy seat

My new couch!! Really looks like home now. And Dad will be happy when he comes to stay.


24th November 2006

Love the couch!
hey mar - loved all the pics, especially the one of the new furniture and the one of you with all of your gifts and goodies! what a great fam you have, never leaving you to entertain without cheese and crackers. so true! miss you, take care, aubs

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0693s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb