The Naritan Waiting Game – Part II


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Chiba » Narita
March 30th 2014
Published: July 10th 2014
Edit Blog Post

The rain came earlier than expected, and it really wanted me. I’d read it was due to kick off at around 8am, it was now 2am and I found myself getting wet. I’d not used my tent tonight as it wasn’t an option, I was encamped upon my sleeping map on the concrete base of the shelters floor. Water encroaching from the northern side of the shelter I etched closer to the opposite side of the way. Perfect. Well, the odd speck of the wet stuff here and there, but this was to be expected, I was homeless after all.

I actually slept for a full 3 hours, possibly a record since I’ve been on the road. If it wasn’t for the rain I would have steamed into Ibaraki today, alas I did not. It was absolutely pissing it down. I would have to play the waiting game. So I waited.

And I waited.

When there was a break in the elements I proceeded to a nearby Aeon Mall, a humongous shopping centre once again comprising of more shops than one can quite possibly shake a relatives genitals at. I would spend the day there walking from shop to shop with the soul intention of buying absolutely nothing. I was bored, so very, bored. But I was dry. If I could remain dry on purpose then I would do my best to do participate in such a feat, there was always going to be days like this. And today I was just thankful on this occasion that I had shelter, and a Mister Donuts. For to have been out on the roads today would have been more than reasonably devastating. And so again I waited.

And I waited.

And then I waited some more.

I waited until late evening, it was still raining when I left for my shelter on the hill. But I couldn’t take the mall anymore, the constant high pitched call of ‘Irasshaimase’ echoed in repetition by every shop assistant throughout the shopping centre finally taking its toll. If you walk into any shop in Japan you will catch hold of this phrase, pretty much a welcome gesture usually stretched out over a number of seconds that seem like minutes to get the desired effect of really welcoming one to the said establishment. It’s something that will perhaps strike one as odd when you first set foot here, but soon enough a customary trait of the culture that one is more than willing to accept. But after about 13,209 times it will begin to show some signs of wear and tear upon ones mentality as a human being. I’d had enough of ‘Irasshaimase’ for one day basically and it was time for bed.

Making it back to my shelter it was again desolate and not a creature stirred, and such was tradition, I bunkered down for the night, homeless, damp, alone, but not hungry, and for Mister Donuts I thank thee. I fell asleep quickly.

Advertisement



10th July 2014

Inspiring
The delights of the homeless...staying dry on purpose...alone but not hungry...truly inspiring!!!
15th July 2014

Adventures and stories
Always love reading your adventures. Keep them coming.

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb