Seattle, Japan & Arrival into Guangshou, China


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Chiba » Narita
May 27th 2007
Published: May 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone! I'm finally online! Seattle is a nice city, and has a downtown like San Diego, where you can walk and shop. etc. I had three things planned. First, I went to the Space Needle by monorail, which was a 2-minute ride from downtown, then back downtown to Pike Place Market, which was a lot of fun and a couple blocks to the water. Besides fresh produce and tons of fresh fish, there were lots of artisan stalls, and the original Starbucks location. I bought an original wood-block print (don't worry Mike-not expensive!) of the famous market sign from a local guy (it appeared I may have been supporting a habit...), then crossed the 3rd thing off my list with a good local coffee. The downtown area had probably two coffee shops and/roasters (excuse me, "roasteries") on every block; and the coffee was really really good on my first try! I stayed in a nice B&B a block from the market.

Then off to Japan. It was raining when we arrived 😞 I stayed in a traditional Japanese-style hotel (which I guess means old & stinky - many smokers), in Narita town, 10 minutes from the airport. I can see why there aren't as many traditional hotels anymore! But, the people were very nice & helpful. I was able to rent a phone in the airport for $4 US, and the rates were reasonable, so I was able to call home a few times & confirm my Guangzhou hotel reservations (and ask how much a taxi would be as I'd be arriving around midnigh & they're known to try to scam foreigners). Afer I checked out in the morning (hot, sunny & blue skys - yay!), I went to the airport to check in for that evening's flight & store my bags, then went back to Narita town as there was a huge temple complex and cute shops. The temple area was really beautiful - there was a service going on in the main temple, and and I heard a gong several times). I noticed many of the roofs were made of blue tile (kiln-fired with a shiny blue glaze. When the sun shone on them, all the different colors from the minerals in the glaze came out-really pretty). I'll upload photos later, or maybe tomorrow. I'm sending home a little saki set and a couple of other small things.

We got into Guangzhou at almost 11:00 - extremely hot & humid. I checked out a taxi company located inside the baggage claim area, and was quoted a fare of 300 yuan, double what it should be. So, I got in a government regulated taxi, which tried to rip me off anyway! The guy coordinating the taxis first tried to get me & another girl to take the same taxi (for double the fare no doubt-she was pretty distressed that the guy told us to do that, and she was Chinese!), but I said no and got in my taxi and shut the door, so she went in another. Then I noticed the meter after about 3 minutes on the road-it was on, but the amount was still on zero-he was trying to fake me out! When I told him to put on the meter, he started yelling in Chinese, and I kept yelling 'meter,' then he finally just turned it off, and I told him to just go. When we reached the hotel he told me the fare was 200 yuan, but I paid him 150 (close to the fare it should have been, but with no meter, I couldn't be sure). He was a little surprised, but I just said 'no meter' as I handed him the money. He was OK with it. My hotel room was spotless, and had A/C, so I slept well, but this morning? It's still extemely humid and even hotter, and pouring rain, which actually feels nice. My hair is another story, but I don't know anyone here! I read that Americans adopting from China have to come here, and the consulate is located in the area of my hotel, and this morning you see these families everywhere with their cute little babies. One benefit to this, several shop workers speak English! I'm in a nice little cafe with free internet with a purchase - today, iced coffee!

It feel really good to be online!

Advertisement



27th May 2007

Tourist
Could you be my tour guide!!! You sound like an experienced world traveler. Can't wait for the photos!
28th May 2007

An adventure already!
Hey Cory, Just read your first travel log entry. Wow! Sounds like you are having a good time. Can't believe the taxis in China, what crooks. I'm sure your cabee (sp?) was shocked yet a bit impressed that you stood your ground and paid him what you thought was fair. Probably not many tourists gutsy enough to do that. But, luckily you are well traveled. Can't wait to see you pics. I would love to travel but won't be going anywhere soon except Buffalo. So, I'll live vicariously through your travels. Will check your blog again soon. Be safe and have fun! Lisa

Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0763s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb