Youhou! Golden week!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Aichi » Nisshin
May 9th 2006
Published: May 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Fab four and Chu-HiFab four and Chu-HiFab four and Chu-Hi

You know like the Beatles? well this one is not as good but still the intention is there
Last week was what is called in Japan the Golden Week. Pretty much the whole Japan is in vacation. I had predict since a while to spend that week in Tokyo with Yanick, Seb and other friends. I did something stupid, that is to call for reserving the bus one day in advance only... I was a bit surprised and very sad when I was told that some people reserve their bus seats one YEAR in advance for this Golden Week... geez... so I had told some friends here, Mario, Heidi, Allison and Carter that I would find them tickets to go... but couldn't make it. I found one place in a bus one day later than what I wanted at the last minute... anyway I felt bad but they managed to go to Osaka and have a good time.

Because I was leaving one day leter, I didn't want to do nothing on the night before so I joined with people that were having drinking games all evening. It was sooooo fun. We went crazy and Benjamin almost broke everything as he's always doing when he gets tipsy, hihi. Hung also drank but seriously I think he's allergic to alcool because he was drunk after one 4% can of Chu-Hi and stayed dizzy for 3 days, I say that this is not normal. Clif, Benjamin and I runned around I-House and did a lot of noise I guess because all the people gathered to the place we were... Matt also took videos that are quite funny, I'd loke to show them to you but oh well.

So I left the day after, a bit sad to leave but eager to join my friends in tokyo and have fun. I arrived at 6 in the morning and tried to call Yanick for three hours at the train station... I was supposed to go sleep at his place a little bit in the morning... not only he hadnt slept at his place but his phone accidentally shut down by itself... I was about to kill him when I saw him but oh well it's Yanick... if I would have to kill him everytime I wait for him hihi...

We walked a lot the three days I was there. The temperature was soooo nice so we went to the park and had a pic-nic. The day after went to Yokohama, the third largest city in Japan. It's really closed from Tokyo but totally different... there's more open space and nice things to see. It's a little bit like Kobe but in bigger, there's a Huge China Town and a really nice port. We stopped by a band playing outside... they were soooo good, I would have stayed there longer but oh well we all have different musical taste... but I wrote their name down and I'll look for it. And one of the guy was really hansomu I could say. We decided to buy some alcool just for the fun of walking with it outside at 3h00 in the afternoon. We bought some more and went in a really nice park by the baseball stadium. We played aki until we got too tipsy and joined with some djimbe players that were really cool. We got to try it a little bit, it was fun. The day after we all went to cut our hair!! youhou! It's not the kind of things that excites me the most but oh well I wanted red hair since a while so I decided to go with them. Them is: Mayumi, Chris (Yanick's colocs) and Mori chan (friend). Well we spent 3 hours there... and my hair turned more brown than red but oh well, it's still a change. After we went a bit to the same park than on the pic-nic day. It's a nice place, there's this huge playground for kids, with everything you can imagine that could be fun as a kid. Families are spending days there, playing, eatgin on the fire camp, painting, and other things. It happens often here in Japan now that I say: Montreal ça pue (Montreal stinks), litterally Montreal sucks for a lot of things compared to here.

We didn't go out or drink much, everybody seemed tired and sick. It was not really what I was expecting from Tokyo but it was still a nice week. On Saturday I really wanted to go in a club though, so I harassed Yanick and Seb all week for that. It was supposed to be a big night with more people like Simon, maybe Megumi, and another friend of Yanick that I didn't know. Keita was unfortunately in Hiroshima for all week, that made me sad I confess it, I would have like to see him, I promised him last time that I would be better in Japanese and him in English. Finally it ended in a 2 people club night, me and Seb. Yanick didn't come because he had problems to take care of... Mayumi and Chris left after an hour because they were too tired and Jane (another of Yanicks colocs) found someone interesting to dance with all night... it was really nice, I had a very good time with Seb. But oh well, it would have been nice to be with everybody as well! We got out of the club at 5 in the morning and I had to catch my bus at 6h50. I was a bit scared to miss, I guess it's because of some bad memories of me missing two buses on two days. But I made it by asking to people where was the bus and that's when I realised that my Japanese had improved. Youhou!!! Now I can understand people way more and I speak a bit more as well. It makes me happy. Happy happy Melanie.

I slept on the way back but not much, the bus not being the most confortable place in the world. But I was not too tired since I hadnt had parties all week-end. I arrived at I-House and it was sooooo calm, almost boring. I had bought the best japanese sake in Tokyo (the one from Akita) to make it taste to my friends. I invited Kelly, YeongKyong, Hung and Benjamin for a nice degustation of sake. It was a good time and we went to bed late for most of us. YeongKyong doesn't have class in the morning like the other people in the Japanese program because she's doing master courses. As for Benjamin and Hung, they are in the same Japanese class at 9h10 every morning but they are totally insomniac people, they never go to bed before 3 or 4 in the morning and take naps during the day. So since they're my friends they brought me in this bad habit... but it's so nice to be awake at 2 when all the lights are shut down and we can hear no sound. It's a different I-House and I like it.

Today I had a big Japanese test, I think I did good. To have friends that don't speak much English but a lot of Japanese is helping
Jimbe party at the parkJimbe party at the parkJimbe party at the park

really, we look better than we actually are, hihi
me a lot I think! It's great practice.

We had our second meeting for the whriting of the play we'll present in July. It was great, I like it. I think it's gonna be pretty good. We have another meeting tonight. Plus I have to find another main actor, since one told me yesterday he didn't want to do that much. Hum... that's what I should do right now.

See you next time!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0667s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb