Crazy Crazy Nagoya


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Aichi » Nagoya » Sakae
October 7th 2008
Published: October 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Cool Twsited TowerCool Twsited TowerCool Twsited Tower

This tower is curved as it goes up, apparently houses a architecture school.
Ok so... things are rather weird here.. this is my first chance to actually sit down and just relax since arriving here.

Yesturday Im on my way to where Im staying, a small Ryokan. I generally knew where I was going, but all of a sudden this business man walks up and asks where Im going in English. I show him the map Im using and he looks at it, and instead of pointing which way to go like usual, he motions me to follow him. After he asks a few people, including one guy looking up the directions on his cars GPS, we arrive at my Ryokan. He got their phone number and called ahead / explained who I was in Japanese to the owners. Turns out while talking to him he has a daughter in Canada going to Windsor University, hence he saw the Canadian flag and decided to help.

Anyways after that he gives me his business card and tells me to call him after 6pm and go out for dinner. Thats a first! After I checked in I barely had enough time to do laundry and take a shower/bath before I gave him a call,
ManBoo! Internet CafeManBoo! Internet CafeManBoo! Internet Cafe

Crazy name, and crazy lighting here in this cafe. One group of, I presume sleeper cubes, are located in basically a glorified crawlspace. Funky.
told me where to meet him and headed over there.

Turns out he brought a coworker of his, Yoriko-San. Went to a very nice and apparently popular place for the after work crowd and chatted about quite a bit, politics what they do etc etc. Amazing people! Turns out Kenji-San is a grand master in... I think Shaolin Temple Boxing or something like that. Martial Arts anyways, runs the school here in Nagoya. He's over 60 and could probably take me out in no time.

But thats just the beginning of this story. He got his coworker, Yoriko-San, to show me around Isen jiu, I think that's the spelling. a very impressive Shinto Shrine I was wanting to see. They also scheduled me in to get a tour at the Tokyo Factory, going to get a lift over there in their company car tomorrow.

However Im absolutely starving to death so Ill share todays and tomorrows adventure... tomorrow if I can. Overall having an absolutely amazing and unique experience, very cool way to celebrate the 30th I gotta say.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Hasimoto-SanHasimoto-San
Hasimoto-San

Picture of Hashimoto-San.. a very unique individual.
Yoriko and HashimotoYoriko and Hashimoto
Yoriko and Hashimoto

Two very friendly Japanese people


7th October 2008

Great Stuff
What a unique and terrific way to celebrate your Birthday!!! YAH!!
11th October 2008

Happy Birthday! So, is he trying to hook you up with his daughter???

Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb