Doing a whole load of nothing


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Sumatra » Lake Toba
August 27th 2009
Published: October 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So from Bukit Lawang, it was time to head to Lake Toba. Unfortunately this meant going back through Medan. Which meant being a celebrity again. You see, what I didn't mention last time is that because hardly any tourists stop in Medan, those that are around are a great attraction to locals, and everyone gets taught the phrase "Hello Mister" and isn't afraid to use it. It's quite a nice feeling for a short while, and it does seem like everyone is happy to see you there. I think I gave out more high fives in 10 minutes than I would in a regular week back at home. Then again, 1 high five would probably do that.

Anyway, I decided to leave the celebrity lifestyle and carry on to Lake Toba, just about arriving in the town of Parapat in time for the last ferry to Samosir, an island in the middle. Back in the day, the town of Tuk Tuk on the island was a big backpacker place, and used to host the full moon party. However, a variety of incidents meant that the scene kind of died out there, and what is left is a place with a fantastic tourist infrastructure, but very few tourists.

So what did I get for the pound a night I paid to stay there? Well, put it this way. On my first morning, I woke up, had a round of golf on the losmen's private course, went for a swim in the clear lake, then decided I quite fancied breakfast. The place also had badminton and volleyball courts, and its own private fishing pool, so there was plenty to keep you a healthy mixture of lazy and entertained. Mainly lazy though. Very, very lazy.

But, let me stir from this stupor, as occasionaly I did things. Like hire out a motorbike. An Aussie guy convinced me to do it, knowing full well that Id never ridden one before. Im pretty sure he wanted me to fall off and die, as I'd been giving him a bit of stick about the Ashes. Despite me telling the guy renting them out I'd never ridden one before, he was still keen on the money, so there I was, let loose on a motorised 2 wheeled vehicle. Miraculously, I went through the whole day without crashing, and thoroughly enjoyed the great views of Lake Toba from higher up the island. We also visited the "sights" of the island, the traditional Batak houses were quite cool, but I wasn't that bothered with the stone chairs. Whatever the history, when all is said and done, they were just chairs... but made of stone. So not even that comfortable. Give me a sofa anyday.

On the way back, we rode past a couple of others we'd been hanging round with, and it was generally agreed that stopping for tea and a couple of beers while the sun set would be a jolly good thing to do. And it was - the fish curry was one of the best meals I've had since being away. That is, it was until I remembered that I still had to steer the 50cc beast back to the losmen, and by now it was dark and I'd had a couple of beers... although not over the limit I must quickly point out. Kids, drink driving is bad, and if you do it you are a very naughty person indeed. Anyhow, we got back, and sat down to watch the football. Sadly, this was interrupted as there was a live show of
Born to be Wild!Born to be Wild!Born to be Wild!

On a scooter
Batak dancing and music going on. To be honest, they were mildly entertaining, until they started looking for volunteers from the audience. Normally, this is fine, as there are plenty of people about, so after you've said no 3 or 4 times they decide you're a boring bugger and move on and find someone more interesting. Unfortunately, there wasn't anyone else around so we got dragged up. There is no photographic evidence, and noone else was there to see it, so from this moment on it didn't happen. So there.

That single day of excitement took a lot out of me, so I needed a couple of days to rest and decide where I was going to go next. I'd been torn between heading north or south (the idea of visiting the equator really appealed to me), and this thinking took another day. In the meantime, a Cornish lass called Beth (who was heading south) had turned up and was finding my indecision very amusing (and possibly mildly annoying). Anyway, it all came down to a coin toss, and fate decided that I too would be getting a bus the following day to Bukittinggi. That decided, on my final night at Toba it was required to once again risk life and limb on a bike to go and visit some hot springs - but this time driving for an hour each way in the dark and with Beth sat on the back. I'm not quite sure who was more frightened, me or her, or possibly the islands dogs which were doing their best to get killed. But again, miraculously, there was no accident, and the hot springs were very pleasant.

And that is how to write quite a lot of words about doing nothing.

Stewart


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Curry, tea and beerCurry, tea and beer
Curry, tea and beer

All at the same time. I was the most amount of happy.
Interesting business combination.Interesting business combination.
Interesting business combination.

No, I didn't partake. At least not in the laundry. (Did I say laundry, I meant magic mushrooms. Obviously)
Stone ChairsStone Chairs
Stone Chairs

Dying camera
Batak HouseBatak House
Batak House

The last photo my camera ever took.


Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0737s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb