Haircut for Humanity


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Sumatra » Banda Aceh
January 13th 2006
Published: January 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Haircut IncidentThe Haircut IncidentThe Haircut Incident

Apparently "a little bit" means 6 inches to every hairdresser.
Yesterday I went to one of our "rebuilding livelihoods" projects to get a haircut. Before the tsunami, the hairdresser, Agus, ran a busy hairdressing salon out of her home. When she lost her home, she also lost her husband, son, parents and way of life. Now she is living in temporary shelter (barracks) and has just begun to cut hair again using a chair in a friend's salon. The organization I work for has given her money to buy some materials to get her business started again.

Our staff reporter wanted to do a story on Agus and I was asked if I would go along to get a haircut. I willingly accepted because 1.) i wanted to get out from behind my desk and into "the field" to see some projects, 2.) i desperately needed a hair trim and 3.) it seemed like a good cause.

Upon coming back to the office, my co-worker's giggles inspired me to write a poem about the experience. Set to the tune of Robert Frost's "Stopping by the Woods on a Snowy Evening"

Whose salon is this I think I know.
Her house is in the barracks though;
She will sparingly
The SalonThe SalonThe Salon

Agus's friend's salon where she will be taking customers...step right up!
cut my hair
A subtle trim to make it glow.

I climb into the modest chair
No common language! Brings some fear
“Only an inch” my fingers make
She smiles (or perhaps a sneer?)

After. I give my head a shake
To ask if there is some mistake.
The only other sound's the sweep
My face betrays the inner ache.

My hair is gone! AH! Bleep bleep bleep!
But she has customers to keep,
And one by one, God pray, they come.
The pathway back is slow and steep.


Lessons learned:
-There are other ways to see "livelihood projects" that involve less self-sacrifice.
-I'm not a poet.
-Rebuilding one's life here is very difficult. No home, no materials, no family, no social services (other than donations). Starting again from zero. I guess my hair is a very very small price to pay. I wish Agus lots of luck!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Stylish young Acehnese GirlsStylish young Acehnese Girls
Stylish young Acehnese Girls

They will never have a bad hair day. Maybe now would be a good time for me to start wearing a veil?
Different Haircutting MethodsDifferent Haircutting Methods
Different Haircutting Methods

She cut my hair dry and shampooed my hair after. Interesting method.
The "After" photoThe "After" photo
The "After" photo

Oh my God! I can't believe how short my hair is now!


13th January 2006

hair cut
Erica, I think all hairdressers are the same all over the world. I have never been to a salon where the hairdresser understands cut one inch. However you look fantastic with your new hair cut.
13th January 2006

things you won't find on the "best of Ache" listing
I understand the shock you must have had but does look good and is a good length. just don't go back to her for a dye job though.
13th January 2006

poem
love the poem- i hope they use it in the article! xx
14th January 2006

Thanks for another great entry. I love hearing about daily life in Aceh. You look beautiful as always, my friend! PS I had my hair cut this week as well and guess what? It has been confirmed that I have a few white strands...
14th January 2006

Saving the World, one hair at a time.
Whatever you do, for pete's sake, don't get anything waxed!
15th January 2006

next time look at the floor
when you notice people stare they know not, you lost a foot of hair you see, it's because you shine long hair or short, your simly devine
22nd January 2006

Most excellent do!
I like it short. Tres sophisticated.
10th February 2006

Bella! Bella!
Auntie Ginny is right! It's universal; I think it's a right of passage for a "new-to-you" hairdresser to not listen to length instructions. They're breaking you in! hmmm..maybe they have a hair-selling business on the side??
18th May 2006

go shorter
Its a start but it would look better a little shorter

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0659s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb