Togean Festival and attempting to leave


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Sulawesi » Togean Islands
July 24th 2011
Published: September 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today is the start of the once a year Togean festival so I decided to stay just a few more days. But this meant too many guests arrived today, with no room for everyone. But due to it been a small group of islands they have to find somewhere for people to sleep. This meant a few went off camping and I was to move into Teteng's bed with her to free up my room for the ever increasing number of guests that arrived that day.
The first thing this morning Teteng woke me up and rushed me off to Wakai, I thought when I agreed to go to Wakai in the morning with her yesterday and told her to wake me she would give me 30 mins notice but no it was 5! Breakfast of choki bickies on the boat it was and no time for the toilet! Even then we ended up arriving late to meet the boat as there were a large group from Poso stay on the restaurant floor last night who we had to take back to Wakai and Indonesians don't rush! We only brought two guests back and Rizal but when we arrived back at the hostel there were a group of ten that had arrived and no rooms. After organising where everyone was sleeping we headed out to Karina beech. But while we were arguing about whether I would camp, stay in Wakai or Teteng's bed they left. So along with Rizal I hitched a boat ride to the beech. The boat was small and leaked alot so it made for a very wet trip there. Rizal was constantly emptying the boat of water, but we arrived in one piece.
Due to having ear ache I couldn't really go snorkelling so I climbed and scrambled to the top of the hill with Rizal and he attempted to teach me some Indonesian. But he kept lying about the translations and then the others just laughed but wouldn't tell me the meanings, so not funny. Tommi collected crabs and put them all in a hole so some kids could watch them all climb back out and we had stick flights some I even won. But after a couple of hours Pudin arrived with the other boat to take some of them camping and we headed back to Lestari to get ready to go to the opening of the festival.
The opening of the festival was pretty disappointing, we spent three hours there but there was no music and just a few stalls not really anything to do which was surprising as it was so busy. Most of the time Teteng and myself sat outside the house where the boat was waiting for eleven o clock to arrive.
Teteng wanted to go to Gorantalo with me when I left but with only boats on sunday and thursday and it been Ramadam next week Teteng didn't want to go thursday and with it not been the best of evenings we decided we would go tomorrow.
Not feeling too good in the morning I didn't go on the trip put on by the council for the festival instead I relaxed before taking the boat to Wakai around 230 to catch the ferry. Most of the morning Teteng's mum and dad, Tommi and Teteng's sister were trying to talk me into not leaving! It was going to be hard and I was sad to leave but it had to be done.
Once we got to Wakai we did a bit of shopping, I had to buy more jandels as I lost mine at Karina beech and took a scooter back to the harbour and spent many hours walking and sitting around waiting for a boat. It eventually arrived late around six but rumours quickly spread that it wouldn't be leaving until tomorrow due to problems with the other ship. Not sure what to do in the end we got back on the boat to head back to Lestari. A long time later a not very happy Pudin called because I hadn't said goodbye to him, (he wasn't there) and we eventually went back. I got the biggest hug ever from mama she knocked me over on to the bed and jumped on me, I guess she was glad I came back.
After a long very tiring day I listened to music in the restaurant then relaxed in the hammock before staying in Teteng's room again.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb