Kadidiri Resorts... the good, the better and the downright beautiful


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Sulawesi » Togean Islands
April 18th 2011
Published: April 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Travelling to the Togian Islands is no easy feat, getting there involves at least three days travel depending on your departure point. The Togian Islands had been one of my primary reasons for visiting Sulawesi.
On Palau Kadidiri Island there are three resorts all sharing the same slice of pristine beach! In no particular order there is, Paradise Resort, Black Marlin Cottages & Pondok Lestari. Two of the resorts, Black Marlin & Paradise are similarly priced resulting in a competitiveness that can only benefit the traveller.
I had read about the three resorts on the island and it wasn't until I had met a friend who used to be an employee at the Black Marlin Resort did I finally make up my mind where I was staying.
The Lonely Planet lists Black Marlin first with reference to the British Run Dive Outfit making this resort a popular choice for divers. I chose to stay there under various recommendations.

The price of the room is 180000rp per person. So if you are a couple, you can share and pay 360 000rp. As an independent traveller I was in a room by myself. I was told by the Britt owner that I could pay 180 000rp until more people came and in the event that I don't want to share my room, I would have to pay an additional 50 000rp (This is called a single supplement) This would take my accommodation to 230 000rp per day. Now I could understand this if I wanted a dorm style room to myself but my room had only one bed so there was no option to share anyway. Exactly what was he suggesting? What caused me to be sour on this arrangement was the manner it was sold to me.
Firstly, I was told that they would be missing out on money by having only one person in the room instead of two. I did explain that I was going to stay for two weeks however that didn't register and I was left feeling very disadvantaged and confused. After such a long journey it wasn't exactly welcoming!

I stayed one night and the next morning I was migrated to Paradise Resort!

Paradise Resort was more the style of resort I was expecting at Kadidiri. Timber Bungalows which are beach front as well Bungalows facing a garden and lagoon. The resort is set among plenty of trees and has a natural appeal that blends into the Jungle backdrop that falls as a curtain behind the resort. The price of my room was 150000rp with no supplement/penalty for being on my own. Meals are plentiful and often go back to the kitchen with food to spare. Apart from the rice which was served at every meal the dishes varied every night I was there. Water is on all day and the power comes on at 5pm till 11pm. My room was ocean front and had all the amenities Black Marlin had except for some room décor.

All three resorts have different tariffs for different rooms and .I stayed in a standard room which has no fan. I couldn’t see the sense in a fan as the power came on only in the evening and in this time most of the guests are in the communal areas, not in their room. Should you choose a fan room you will pay 200000rp per person. Paradise does have a luxury bungalow which is set out onto the water with your own private deck and deck chairs facing the sunset. There are steps that come off your deck into the water for your own private entry point into the reef below. The room is large, clean and tastefully decorated. The price of the room at time of writing was 350000rp (low season) per person I presume.
Make sure you have a look at a few options of rooms, even if they are the same price as they do differ.

A friend I met on the ferry stayed at the third resort Pondok Lestari. From a distant these little timber & bamboo bungalows are exactly what I envisioned would be on the island. Closer up you can see that the bungalows are quite rustic & worn. The bungalows are beach front also and you can expect to pay 85000rp to 100000rp per person including all meals. Even though the rooms are rustic, they would have been ok for me except one little demand I have on my journey and that is to have my own toilet & bathroom. At Lestari it is a shared mandi style bathroom and squat toilet. My friend also told me that the meals were very basic. In this case, you get what you pay for! Lestari have a great reputation for entertaining
Bungalows Black MarlinBungalows Black MarlinBungalows Black Marlin

Concrete Construction
their guests and providing a little more than a beach to sit on. Each day something is on offer as far as an activity, going to Wakai to see the waterfall, going fishing for your dinner, snorkelling reef trip, island hop etc. All these trips were free for the guests. They were active with cutting the coconuts for snacks and even managed to show the guests the ever elusive coconut crab.

Black Marlin has a great reputation among the diving community and it was unfortunate that my first day on this splendid island was met with confusion & disappointment however, once I settled into Paradise Resort I felt all my previous concerns disappear. The weather toned down and the bay returned to its peaceful lake-like existence as I became very well acquainted with my hammock & view.

Please remember that this resort overview is based on my personal experience and will no doubt conflict with many as well ring true with others.
I have since received an apology from the owner of Black Marlin Resort via this blog entry which I did appreciate the time and effort to do so. Such a shame that a little bit more
Bungalow Paradise resortBungalow Paradise resortBungalow Paradise resort

Timber Construction
sensitivity towards me on my arrival would have no doubt ended in a different tone.

My advice for snorkelers traveling to Kadidiri is to check out Paradise Resort first. Black Marlin IS a dive resort and will want to no doubt put their divers first.
You will also note that I didn't mention anything about the diving facilities on the Island and to do so would have been completely irresponsible of me given that I don't dive. Feel free to leave your comments here so people may have an idea of dive sites & facilities.

Please see my Togian Islands Blog for more images of the Palau Kadidiri & Palau Bolilanga
cheers.. Michelle


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Pondok LestariPondok Lestari
Pondok Lestari

Backpacker Fav


18th April 2011
Black Marlin Resort Kadidiri

I like this photo
nice view

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0649s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb