Lembeh Straits!


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Sulawesi » Lembeh
October 21st 2010
Published: October 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

This is a bit old now but it took me so long to sort all the photos! Here is Lembeh:

On the morning of my transfer to Lembeh I woke up with a blooming ear infection - again!!!
Very angry and upset but I started to take drops immediately and got some anti inflammatories in Manado on the way to Lembeh.
Arriving at the resort I had to watch everyone else go off for dives and come back very excited...for a whole day and a half! I suppose it is not the worst place in the world to sit and take it easy though..surrounded by jungle, the sound of frogs (really loud and weird!) view over the sea and some Indonesian volcanoes, life could be worse!
After a while I was good enough to dive and maximised the time I had left. It was really really cool - never been anywhere like it - the stuff you see here is just so amazing and rare. I have seen the hairy octopus, wonderpus, mimic octopus, hairy frogfish, hairy ghost pipefish, robust ghost pipefish, nudibranchs mating, lembeh sea dragon, ambon scorpion fish, sea spider, pygmy sea horse, zebra crab, emperor shrimp and so many more lovely critters...

Met some lovely people as well - and luckily some great photographers so I have learnt a few more tricks! Also there was a swedish professor in reef/ocean ecology that did some presentations about symbiosis on the coral reef as well as on reproduction - very interesting and good stuff to know when working in the dive industry!

Managed to have a huge cricket land on my face and a gecko fall on my head, so there were some animal interaction as well.

Now I am sitting sorting my photos and waiting for my transfer back to Manado and then Bali, very sad sad sad...


Additional photos below
Photos: 45, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

flamboyant cuttlefishflamboyant cuttlefish
flamboyant cuttlefish

FINALLY!!!!!!!


22nd October 2010
sea horse!

Wishes from a snowy Uddevalla.
Hello Frida..what a lovely sea horse..amazing that they live for real..not only in fairytales. See ya soon..have a nice visit in London../hugs from your aunt.

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 18; qc: 81; dbt: 0.0742s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb