Lembeh


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Sulawesi » Lembeh
July 14th 2009
Published: July 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

We arrived in Lembeh on the 17th of December, but something important happened earlier that morning. My camera finally arrived. I hurried my way out of the boat and then a lady gave me my camera. I called my uncle to tell him that I've received the camera, and I thank him so much for it. It's in a wooden box- nailed. So I couldn't open it.... hmmmmph! I asked one of the guys if they had a screw driver, luckily yhey did. My dad opened it for me. OOooolala, it's here. And I'm so happy. I quickly checked if it was working, then I played around with it. This really made my day.

As we arrived in Lembeh, we quickly put our suitcases in our room, then we had lunch. After that we went diving, this afternoon's location is in Makawede. It's a sandy bottom. That means that there won't be much corals around us, not as much as in Bunaken anyway. After a few minutes under water, the guide seemed to be pointing at something with his stick. I looked at it and saw nothing but sand. My mum gave him the 'OK' sign, which probably meant that she saw it too. So I asked him what the thing was, he then gently touched the sand with his stick and something moved. That's when I realised that there was a flounder, in fact there were two flounders. They were so well camouflaged that I couldn't see them. I took a few pictures of it, then we moved on.

We then saw more and more flounders. Just then, I saw what looked like a stonefish but not quite a stonefish. So I pointed at it to the guide and I asked him what it was. He then wrote 'demon stinger' in my palette. It was so ugly, yet so fascinating. Afterwards we saw this really awesome nudibranch, it was orangey yellow, I think they're long-tailed ceratosoma, but I'm not sure. I took pictures of it, it's so cool. Then we saw a short-tailed pipe fish. It's so plain ugly, it looked like moulded water hose.

Later on, we saw some striped catfish. There were lots and lots of them. I tried takingpictures, but they weren't very good. These catfish made a lot of mess, I tried taking pictures, but there were so many backscatters as the sand was everywhere. Later, we saw a helmet gurnard. It looked like a giant fly from far away. As I come close towards it to take pictures, it swam away so fast. I got a few good shots though. Then we saw a few ocellated dragonet, they're so weird. Anyway, we then saw a spiny waspfish. It looked almost like a dried leaf. I took a few pictures, I liked this fish because it's so calm and doesn't move around much. Makes it easier to take pictures. FInally we saw a humpback scorpionfish, it was so beautiful; and I took lots of pictures of it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb