One Month


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Lombok » Gilli Trawangan
August 6th 2012
Published: August 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

It's been just over a full month since we got to Indonesia and there are a couple of milestones that should be acknowledged.



Tyler has been travelling for about 32 days and has not had a single injury! Yay Tyler!

This is definitely the longest either of us has been travelling. Every day going forward will be a new record for us and if our trip goes as planned we will have been away from home for over 240 days. (sorry for the reminder Mom, I love you – only like 200 more days until I book my flight home!)


I cannot believe how much we have learned and accomplished already. We have climbed active volcanoes (as in more than one), partially learned a different language, witnessed once-in-a-lifetime sunrises and sunsets, walked on ancient bricks that were covered for centuries by volcanic ash, immersed ourselves in cultures and religions we knew very little about, grown as individuals and as a couple ... the list goes on...

Tyler told me before we left that when you are travelling life moves in half speed; a day feels like a week and a week feels like a month. However, I haven't found that to be completely true. The last month has flown by and knowing that encourages me to take even more time to feel the sand in my toes or the sun on my skin. I want to remember every moment that I am on this trip. I can't count the number of times that I have found myself speechless, inspired, in awe of what my eyes have seen or how my heart has been touched.

Every day we say to each other “How lucky are we?” and we really are. We are so lucky to have each other and have this experience together! The uncertainty of what is going to happen next doesn't stress me out anymore, it excites me. If we can do this much in one month, imagine what we can do with 8!

I know I've said this before, but the one thing that makes being away from home for this long bearable is knowing that there are so many people behind us, reading our blog or sending us emails or facebook messages of encouragement. All of you are with us on this journey! So many times a day I say to myself “insert your name here would love this” or “I wish insert your name here could see this”. Thank you for joining us on this life altering adventure.

7 more months to go, 5 more countries to see and a million more moments to share.

Xoxo Becs

Advertisement



6th August 2012

One Month and it's just the beginning....
Hi Rebecca.....your blog is so interesting and your trip is so inspiring. Don't forget to live each day to the fullest and always enjoy the view and each other! It's definately a trip of a lifetime! Luv David and Gina
7th August 2012

One month
It really is incredible what you are doing! Life will never be the same:) You will accomplish so much more knowing what you've accomplished here. So very proud of you both! Much love...Mom xoxo
7th August 2012

Becca !!! I have been reading each blog you post ! Looking up the places you have been so far , mapping out place to place ! So very proud of you and Tyler . You guys are very lucky to do this journey in this stage of your lives . Keep up the blogs and I promise I wont get too Jealous . Love you always KB xoxoxo
9th August 2012

I love all your updates! Glad you are safe and enjoying every moment! Love you and miss you both! Xo

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0756s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb