Return to Gili


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Lombok » Gilli Trawangan
June 21st 2006
Published: June 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

I arrived back in the Gili Islands a few days ago. I arrived via a speedboat from Kuta (Bali) that I had been on before. I could not find the details at first but while updating my blog I saw a GOOGLE ADSENSE® advert on my last Gili article for a Speedboat transfer from Kuta to Gili so clicked and booked.

The boat ride was Tikda Bargus (not good). The water was REALLY rough and we got soaked to the bone. I lost another cel phone to salt water damage… still, it was fun and I was really glad to get back to Gili.

There are about 5 times as many people on the Island now as when I was here a few weeks ago - the high season is kicking off. But still it is quiet, and easy to find space. The backside (west, and therefore sunset) is VERY quite and there are some really nice places to stay for those looking for peace a quiet. My only complain is that football (world up is EVERYWHERE). I leave England and football still haunts me! (And I have this strange feeling that I might like football - nah, that is just silly talk.)

The last time I was here I found a bar (Tatoo Addiction) that had two small monkeys running around the place. I went back for drinks a few days in a row (they make a MEAN mixed fruit juice) and one of the monkey’s, Captain Jack warmed up to me. I took her for a few walks (sitting on my shoulder).

Anyway, this time when I arrived back - having been gone for two weeks - she recognized me, jumped onto my sarong (yes, sarong) and climbed up onto my shoulder. She now comes with me on most of my island adventures… today we went bike riding! She loved it. She also swims, eats fruit smoothies out of the palm of my hand, cleans my hair monkey-style (and removed two of my stitches) and then, when it has all been too much, she curls up on my chest, nestles in and goes to sleep. I have some pics and will post them soon when I have faster net again.

Anyway, in a few days I am doing an eight-day diving trip on a live-aboard boat that goes to Komodo Island. I am doing a travel piece for YAK Magazine (article and pictures), a glossy magazine in Bali. I am looking forward to that and will post lots of pictures - underwater and Komodo Dragons.

Take care, dare to dream and make each day an epic adventure (as my friend Topher would say!)


Advertisement



26th June 2006

Awesome!! You are making it worthwhile. The other day I was talking about Komodo Dragons to one of my friends. It seems they can die even if they bite their ownselves. Their saliva is deadliest poison. Best of luck with your diving adventure.

Tot: 0.217s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 18; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0799s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb