All Aboard The Pirate Ship


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Lombok » Gilli Trawangan
December 12th 2008
Published: December 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I woke up with a jolt the following morning due to not only having a hangover from the night before but mainly due to a memory of a conversation about a boat. The lasting image in my mind from last night was of Yaari behind me on the dancefloor while the Indo boy, who was otherwise my landlord at the time was coming toward me - each wanting a piece of me.

Now to the matter of the boat. I was assured that the offer was genuine and in that vein I got my things together with the faith that there would be somebody to meet me at Horizon bar as planned. And, hell if nobody was there the worst that could happen would be my spending stupid money on a delicious breakfast.

Lo and behold who should I bump into but Yaari heading in the wrong direction. I put my head down hoping he wouldn't notice but he did. He asked me where I was heading and I told him straight. Thank goodness he acknowledged my reply and in response he said he would be there soon. So, with the confidence I required I walked with a happy stride to the best bar in town.

In fact it is considered to be The Hangout and the best location to view the sunset surrounded by beautiful people and intoxicating atmosphere. Over the next two days I spent much time at this place and I can assure you that in retrospect the claim is true.,

So, while I was at Horizon I see a beautiful wooden ship sail into view and being a fan of boats it caught my attention and like a child I ran onto the beach camera in hand to take a picture. Later, I see Sean emerge from the sea and dripping wet he walks into Horizon bar and says hello. To my amazement he remembers me from last night and asks if I still want to come on the boat. (Are you kidding)

I ask him where it is and he points to the beauty sitting offshore that only caught my attention a moment ago. At that moment I thought life couldn't get any better.

So we get onto the boat and there to my surprise is a confluence of people from all around the world. Girls, like myself picked up from various locations on Gili T. Hold your thoughts for a moment. It really isn't what you think.

With me were three Swedish backpackers, two Russians, two writers from Bali, three investors from Australia, an accountant, a real estate agent, Sean (the owner) and Yaari.

On board was beer and great company. A girl couldn't ask for anything more. Once I got on the boat I was lost for a moment not knowing anyone but the guys were so accomodating it truly was like being with friends.

We stopped off at Gili Air to snorkel and I stupidly swam all the way to shore while the others remained close to the boat. Consequently, I had to jump and shout to get their attention from shore so I could get a lift back to the boat. Once on we were taken to the other side of the island where we spent the rest of the day at a beach bar.

It was absolutely awesome. It was a time to get to know the strangers around me. For the men, the investors in particular it was a time to let loose and wear sarongs where in the West they would be chided for their fashion sense but where in Indo anything goes!

See the pictures and make up your own mind.. that invite turned into a 2 day extravaganza. The last day was spent on Lombok at an exclusive resort where they have freshwater swimming pool and a bottle of beer costs a small fortune. Need I say more. I was in heaven and it was all paid for.

(I know you have heard this before - the pictures will be put on at a later date - but only in the event that I still in fact have them. I fear they have been accidentally deleted.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

in the company of beautyin the company of beauty
in the company of beauty

with the Russian girls
me and sophiame and sophia
me and sophia

on the side of the boat
view from the boat view from the boat
view from the boat

passengers waiting to board


Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0843s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb