Gili Air - Lombok


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Lombok » Gili Air
June 12th 2017
Published: June 12th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Hi Guys!



This was my second visit to Gili Air, my first being in 2012 and I have to admit I was a little worried it wouldn't live up to my first visit as I had the most amazing time back then. I have to say I wasn't disappointed at all. Is Gili Air a little busier, yes however it is by far ruined and it still has that feel of being a throwback to the old days! Zipp Bar is still there piping out its tuna skewers and bottles of Bintang and the horse and carts are still wheeling up the sand paths at break neck speed!!! The locals are still really friendly and the post sunset vibe is still super chilled.



One of the best things to do here, especially on a budget is snorkel and although I was the only person to not spot on the giant turtles just off the beach I still found an array of fish to keep me occupied for hours each day! I'm also impressed at the artificial reefs that are being created here... This says to me the place cares!



I would recommend anyone visit this island if they are planning on visiting the Gili's. It's quiet enough to feel relaxed but has enough going on to keep you entertained, just depends on what you're after.



Notable places:



I stayed at Manta Dive and it was great. Very friendly staff and my room was great. Very clean with air con and great beds!!!



Zipp Bar and Scallywags are where I went for food most nights and I think they are great.



The swings for sunset - Definitely!!!



My opinion anyway! Have fun guys!!!



Johnno!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb