The Last Events of 2014


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java
January 18th 2015
Published: January 18th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Here are the highlights from October to mid December - right before our Christmas break:




• Thanksgiving: We had a potluck dinner held at the school in an air conditioned space which was large enough for our decent Canadian sized group.






• I visit my friend’s Grade one classroom every Thursday morning. I am their guest reader each week. I choose a few books from the Junior School library and read them to the students. Some of the students are involved with our afterschool sports program for Grades 1 and 2 which I co-run with my colleague.






• The Grade one and two basketball season ended with a one day tournament






• The volleyball season for Grades 10-12 has come to an end. We went out for dinner to mark the end of the season. Most of my starting players are now graduating in June. They will be missed but I look forward to what next year will bring.






• Enjoyed the last of my company from home – nice to share my life here with familiar faces!






• Some of my former colleagues came to Indonesia to visit the school and to see how we run our IB programs. One of the headmasters from a different campus here has recently become the principal at the school I used to work at. He brought over a small group of people to inquire about how the school I am currently at runs. It was a bonus to have them to visit and to spend time with them. It was awesome to connect with old friends.






• Each year the grade 10 food tech students invite teachers for a meal. They are required to design invitations, confirm reservations, plan the meal, make the meal, serve the meal etc. In exchange, we as teachers enjoy the meal and fill out a questionnaire giving them feedback on it






• Attended a friend’s baby shower






• Pool parties for friends birthdays






• Supervising student council events – one event involved sleeping overnight at the school and the other involved to help organize a Christmas Charity Gala dinner and dance






• Grade 9 Retreat – went away with the grade 9 students and some other teachers for three days. We spent time chilling by the pool, playing games, listening to a guest speaker etc.






• Went on the annual Christmas shopping trip and bought a few more items to complete my Christmas décor






• Decorated my apartment for Christmas. I ended up putting the few gifts and cards I got from home under my tree.






• A group of us hosted a Christmas party on the floor in which we live. Since we know everyone living in the other units, it made for a perfect venue. Each apartment had a different event/activity such as karaoke, Christmas movies, cookies, hot chocolate, food and beverages, a photo booth etc. Karaoke was set up in my apartment. It was an open house event where everyone in our community was invited to.






• There was another Christmas party I was invited to hosted by one of the married couples – was on a smaller scale and was nice to interact with them outside of the school context






• Christmas parties galore: Grade 9 level party – last two periods of the day, last day of school. A group of parents organized a catered lunch for the whole grade. After we ate, there were opportunities to swim in the pool and play games in the gym as well as on the outdoor basketball and volleyball courts






• It’s not every day when a helicopter lands in the middle of your PE class the day before Christmas break......the students however, enjoyed watching the action unfold.





• Signed my contract for another year here


Advertisement



Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0614s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb