Indonesia-Yogyakarta-10-0414


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java » Yogyakarta
May 1st 2010
Published: May 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

BOROBUDUR BHUDDIST STUPA
Yogyakarta-The locals say if you have not visited Yogyakarta you have not visited Java and Indonesia for that matter. The largest and in my opinion the most elaborate Bhuddist Stupa called Borobudur, the Hindu Prambanan Temple complex, and of course the very modest palace of the Sultan of Yogyakarta. I arranged a driver and a private guide thru Yogi tous, and I have to say they were the best guides. Beside having a thorough knowledge of the area, they both spoke English and French fluently. I asked them to also take me to a Javanese Puppet maker, which they did. Igt was an old Javanese house and it was a mother and daughter business. I loved their work and bought a pair of puppets of Rama and Sita.
I hope you like the pictures...
M
p.s.. Unfortunately I did not have enough time to continue the journey to East Java to visit the Volcanoes and also to visit the Cirebon, with its beautiful harbor and colorful boats. So if you have the time, make sure you visit these areas.
M again


Additional photos below
Photos: 73, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.279s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0534s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb