Life's a beach


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java » Yogyakarta
June 28th 2008
Published: July 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I recovered very quickly from that bout of dietary indiscretion, though I certainly milked it for all the sympathy I could! One of my professors from home was visiting my campus the next day. Perhaps I was still a bit ill, she looked very alarmed and turned into a mother hen the minute she saw me. The rest of the week was very busy with my project. Everything is finally up and running. Again, I am sparing the details here, if you’d like to hear more, email me! It’s very gratifying to finally have everything work out and come together!

I took the day off on Friday again so that I could visit the nearby beach with my Indonesian boy. It is really excellent dating someone with a motorcycle! The beach is in Parangtritis (Paris for short) and is a 45 minute ride from Jogja. The waves and current here are so strong that no one enters the water at all. I suppose there is a big rip tide out to the ocean and that’s why there are no surfers. We had a great time wandering the beach at night, though I wasn’t allowed to even put my feet in the water for fear of me being washed away! We stayed in a cute hotel up on the hill with a balcony overlooking the ocean, and for only $7! The drive to Parangtritis from Jogja is really nice, rice fields and little villages the whole way. It is definitely the “resort town” of Jogja, with busloads of locals arriving every weekend.




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



16th July 2008

which prof?
so who was this mother hen? and who is this boy with a motorcycle?

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0724s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb