Yogyakarta Temples


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java » Yogyakarta
April 23rd 2018
Published: April 24th 2018
Edit Blog Post

So, the hostel is small, quiet and quaint ... not at all like I experienced or am used to in South America but ok, calm down and relax a bit first before you go wild ? For this trip I’ll be staying in a mixture of hostels and hotels. First stop ... a hostel.
Breakfast was yummy ... fresh papaya, watermelon, ananas/pineapple followed by fried eggs, toast, cheese, sausage, tomatoes ... at least only your baggage gets weighed when you go on a flight ???
Last night the hostel arranged shared transportation to visit the temples. They offered me a sunrise tour with a 3:30am pick up but I respectfully declined given the 48 hrs of traveling I’ve just had. I thought I’d better sleep a bit but with a cockerel cock-a-doodle-doodling at 2am (clearly he has no concept of sunrise), my roomie getting up for the 3:30am tour and prayer call at god knows what time in the AM, I could easily have chosen the sunrise tour! Lol ??
But I went for the 8am pick up instead.
It was just shared transportation which worked out 1/5th of the price if a taxi and it took us to the 2 must-see temples in Yogyakarta or even in the whole of Java to be fair. OMG my driver could be mistaken for Mr Miyage from the Karate Kid films!!! ??

First, we went to the largest Buddhist temple in the world - Borobudur. Wow, what an amazing site ?.
I can only imagine what it must have been like at sunrise! There were plenty of tourists by the time we arrived and lots of school trips too, so much so that I, yes me ... became the tourist attraction !!!
“Miss Anita” has a lovely ring to it, don’t you think?! ? The amount of Indonesians asking to take a selfie with me was strange to say the least but quite pleasant actually ... such a friendly nation... I’m really going to enjoy this trip me thinks!
We had 2 hours to walk around the temple site then it was off to temple number 2 - Prambanan, the largest Hindu temple complex in Indonesia. This one was also breathtaking and we had another 2 hours to meander around the site. I had some time to spare before heading back to the transporter so I found a food street seller and opted for some veggies with rice in a peanut sauce (and so began the fire in my mouth... ?). OMG, for those who know me well, I don’t do spicy food so you can only imagine my face when my mouth started to burn! But since the nice old lady was looking at me, I smiled and gave her the thumbs up. It was yummy but it was just bloody spicy!!!

All in all it was an 8 hour trip as the distances are long and traffic is the norm over here. Watch out for the mopeds zipping in and out from all directions! Lol





Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb