Temples of Java


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java » Prambanan
November 5th 2013
Published: November 10th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Prambanan temple ruins was our first day of temple exploring. Prambanan is a 9th century Hindu temple compound so there were many areas to see. As you may remember from previous temple blogs, I love ruins so I was very happy here. We paid a small amount of money to hire a bike for an hour to get to the temples that were further away. This was fun, as I had not been on a bike for a while. The lads enjoyed cycling tandem and of course they made a video.

We finished in the temple complex at 10am, had some breakfast and made the long journey to Borobodur consisting of 3 buses and a motorbike ride. We collared a guy to take us to the sunrise point in the morning at a split cost for a car. Borobodur is a Buddhist temple that is one whole entity.

It was pretty amazing! Firstly the sunrise at 5.30 was so so mystical, as the clouds were low which made it quite eery. The main temple itself consisted of different levels. This temple however has been restored. Whilst wandering around Borobodur, the lads and I had MANY Javanese school kids approaching us asking if they could practice their English with us. They asked the same questions, then they sang a song. Some of the kids even gave me small gifts such as pens. Almost every kid wanted photos with us. I would have kids running up to me saying "Miss, miss, can I make photo with you?". Bless.

Later, we all had decisions to make. I decided to catch the train and ferry back to Bali and the lads stayed there one more night I believe and caught a flight to Malaysia.

My journey to Ubud, Bali all in all took 20 hours, but I found a nice bungalow to stay in. I was in Ubud by 11am on the 7/11. I did not do a lot, but that was ok.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0847s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb