On Safari in Jakarta!


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java » Jakarta
September 27th 2012
Published: June 26th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: -6.18, 106.83

Today there was nothing planned for me. It was Fletcher's last day of lecturing so I decided to set off on safari! Let me explain.

From the window of my room on the 14th floor I have looked out each day over the busy road and the adjoining park. On the second morning I noticed amongst the trees the head of a giraffe. I wondered what he was doing there as there seemed to be nothing and noone around him.I felt rather sorry for him away from home and he just looked lonely. Today I decided to pay him a visit.

I headed out about 10am, crossed the busy road and set out along the wide road that cuts through the park looking for an opening in the fences that surround the park. I came to the large gates that protect the stadium and went through there. I came across a huge statue of an archer evidently from Indonesian mythology. I knew I was too far up so intrepidly launched into the trees cross country. I saw ahead the paved path that I knew was near him and then emerging from the trees there he was. He was standing at the entrance of what must have been a great playground. Now dusty and neglected, there was a watercourse which ran under bridges and around carved stones. With the trees around, kids would have loved it. So I said hello to my friend the giraffe and assured him that somebody had noticed him!

The rest of the day was relaxing. I looked at yet another shopping mall but this was more local and down market and I actually found two tops in my size for under $15 each. Fletcher came back and had lunch with me at said mall and then I went swimming and read by the pool for a couple of hours.

Tonight was the course dinner. We went to a great Chinese place close by. The food was delicious, crispy prawns, duck, black pepper beef and fish. Finished off with a mango dessert which was scrumptious. Speeches were given ,certificates handed out and all ended on notes of friendliness and conviviality. We then went back to the Wine Bar for a lovely bottle of Argentinian white before heading to the hotel for our last sleep in Jakarta,.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



28th September 2012

:o)

Tot: 0.354s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 13; qc: 45; dbt: 0.103s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb